Millet-Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
bland without spices.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Pretty tasty although a little bland so you might want to add some of your favorite spices to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
My family enjoyed the fresh sweet pepper flavor of this dish. I didn't have any black beans so had to sub in a can of Navy beans. I also fire roasted my tomatoes before adding to millet mixture. I filled my peppers and then baked them in 350 degrees for 45 minutes instead of microwaving. It left the filled peppers cooked but crisp. Will definitely make again, adding more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Caron
Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I love the idea of these easy and vegetarian stuffed peppers, but I think salsa in place of the tomatoes would jazz it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
After reading the reviews it seemed expedient to cut-up the green peppers and just throw them into the pot with everything else. Also, added curry powder, Mixed Italian herbs, fresh button mushrooms, Thai hot chili sauce, black pepper, omitted the black beans (mine were getting furry in the fridge), lime juice, a red chili pepper and lots of fresh garlic. Forgot to add fresh ginger, but it would also add some flavor. This is extremely spicy, but that's the way I like it! Thanks for the recipe, it was a great beginning for a tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Great recipe! Only problem was that the bouillon made the millet way to salty. Then again I was using a product called, "Better than Bouillon". It's always worked great but it must be way saltier than bouillon cubes. Next time if I use "Better than Bouillon", I will only use 2 cubes worth. That really was the only learning curb of the whole recipe though. I added a few hardy shakes of "Mrs. Dash Fiesta Lime" seasoning salt and that really kick it up a notch. Also stirred in a few glugs of some cheapo picante salsa. A must! I cooked it in the oven, not the microwave and it turned out great. Millet can be tricky to cook some times (the outside is mush and inside it crunchy still). This link gives excellent instructions on how to cook millet to perfection. Toasting the millet for a few minutes before boiling really is key! Gives it a fantastic flavor. http://www.vegancoach.com/how-to-prepare-millet.html. Oh! Also added a tablespoon or so of nutritional yeast to add a cheesy flavor. Serve with few good dollops of guacamole and voila! Amazing. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany
Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
It was good but could use a bit more spice. I will eat it agian but I will try to add something to it I think. Still yummy though! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I liked this recipe. I sauteed 1 chopped onion with 8 ounces of chopped mushrooms until they were translucent. I added 3 chopped tomatoes to the onions and mushrooms and sauteed them for an additional 3 to 4 minutes. Finally, I added 1/2 teaspoon cumin and 1 teaspoon chili powder and 1 can of mild diced chiles and sauteed for an additional minute or so. I mixed in the cooked millet and beans and stuffed the peppers. I topped the peppers with a sprinkling of mozzarella cheese and bread crumbs and baked them in a preheated oven at 350F for about 45 minutes. The stuffed peppers came out great. I had some of the stuffing mixture left over and I simply baked that along side the stuffed peppers. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This recipe has potential but I find millet to be kind of dry so if I make it again I will use quinoa instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I doubled everything except the black beans. I also sauteed about a pound of mild sausage along with 2 chopped onions, some minced garlic, cayenne pepper and black pepper and added it to everything else. I did not use any boullion cubes. I cut the peppers in half lengthwise and baked them in the oven at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States