Millet-Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I added fresh garlic, cayenne, cumin and chili powder to the millet and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This recipe is good as is, if you don't like spicy food. Otherwise, add some spice to it, we used chili powder, cumin, and some Italian Seasoning--a lot of all 3. You don't need any more salt. Perhaps pepper, garlic, and/or onion. After we put it in the peppers, I topped them with some bread crumbs and last but not least, some shredded parmesan cheese. That was the only cheese I had in the house. We don't microwave anything, so, we baked it at 350 for 30 min., the recipe says until tender. It came out real good with the suggestions made here. Thanks Susan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I liked this recipe. I sauteed 1 chopped onion with 8 ounces of chopped mushrooms until they were translucent. I added 3 chopped tomatoes to the onions and mushrooms and sauteed them for an additional 3 to 4 minutes. Finally, I added 1/2 teaspoon cumin and 1 teaspoon chili powder and 1 can of mild diced chiles and sauteed for an additional minute or so. I mixed in the cooked millet and beans and stuffed the peppers. I topped the peppers with a sprinkling of mozzarella cheese and bread crumbs and baked them in a preheated oven at 350F for about 45 minutes. The stuffed peppers came out great. I had some of the stuffing mixture left over and I simply baked that along side the stuffed peppers. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Would've been bland as written, but is a good starter. Added cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, cayenne, and pepper, and mixed in chopped jarred jalapenos. Topped with cheddar and sour cream. Made a LOT of filling. Filled 5 peppers with enough leftover for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
SO GOOD! I also added Cumin, garlic, chili powder, and black peper! I threw it all on the rice cooker and it came out great! The second time i made it i just chopped the pepers and threw them in with everything else! Great for a side dish or meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Co Co Mei

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Delicious! I added cumin, 3-4 cloves of garlic, and fresh cilantro. I cut my peppers in half and laid them in a glass dish with tomato sauce at the bottom (a thin layer). I baked them at 350 for about 15 minutes and they were awesome! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Replaced the tomatoes with our favorite salsa and added some cumin. Yummy! This will be added to our regular dinner favorites! Love that it cooks in the microwave! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I doubled everything except the black beans. I also sauteed about a pound of mild sausage along with 2 chopped onions, some minced garlic, cayenne pepper and black pepper and added it to everything else. I did not use any boullion cubes. I cut the peppers in half lengthwise and baked them in the oven at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Great recipe! Only problem was that the bouillon made the millet way to salty. Then again I was using a product called, "Better than Bouillon". It's always worked great but it must be way saltier than bouillon cubes. Next time if I use "Better than Bouillon", I will only use 2 cubes worth. That really was the only learning curb of the whole recipe though. I added a few hardy shakes of "Mrs. Dash Fiesta Lime" seasoning salt and that really kick it up a notch. Also stirred in a few glugs of some cheapo picante salsa. A must! I cooked it in the oven, not the microwave and it turned out great. Millet can be tricky to cook some times (the outside is mush and inside it crunchy still). This link gives excellent instructions on how to cook millet to perfection. Toasting the millet for a few minutes before boiling really is key! Gives it a fantastic flavor. http://www.vegancoach.com/how-to-prepare-millet.html. Oh! Also added a tablespoon or so of nutritional yeast to add a cheesy flavor. Serve with few good dollops of guacamole and voila! Amazing. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany
Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This recipe has potential but I find millet to be kind of dry so if I make it again I will use quinoa instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States