Millet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Yummy. I made 4 dozen mini-muffins, baked for 10 minutes. I manufactured "buttermilk" by adding a T of lemon juice to a cup of milk. I subbed 1/4 c non-fat vanilla yogurt for half the oil. Thanks for the recipe, Himeesgirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Great Recipe! I made these Gluten Free by substituting Bob's Red Mill GF mix and they were so light and fluffy. The millet was a nice crunchy surprise. A very different but pleasant muffin. Also, I had to sub yogurt for buttermilk since it was all I had on hand and it was great! Delicious with a little jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I adapted this recipe to make a non-gluten version as another reviewer has done. I substituted the flour with equal parts white rice flour, tapioca flour, and oat flour. Instead of buttermilk, I used sour cream and added a few tablespoons of regular milk to thin the mixture a bit. I also added about a cup of fresh blueberries and did not add millet. The muffins turned out very light and airy with a bit of a grainy texture (perhaps from the tapioca flour?). The only thing was that they were a tad dry even though I used sour cream. I would also add more honey/sweetener next time and fill the cups two thirds instead of halfway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
My husband and one year old son loved them. The honey really adds a sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Oleksy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I ground my own wheat for these. They turned out wonderfully well - not dense like many whole wheat recipes. I also added chocolate chips to a few as an experiment. It wasn't so great. But what was great was adding a teaspoon of apricot or blackberry jam to the middle of the muffins before baking. They were yummy! I will definitely use this recipe again. It's healthy and delicious and is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Made recipe as listed. I really liked these muffins. The added crunch from the millet was nice. Whole family loved them. I got 12 muffins that were a little over the top of muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
very nice for afternoon & evening snacks. i add a little more millet than stated, b/c i love the little crunchies. the only disappointment was that they're very crumbly & make a mess (which my dog appreciates!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
So good! Even my anti-health food hubby loved them. I did 2 cups wheat flour and 1/4 flaxmeal, and I added a dash of cinnamon. I made them into mini muffins and they took about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Yum! I AM guilty of changes - half applesauce for the oil, ground oatmeal and seven grains for the millet and part of the flour, and I also added walnuts, raisins, and cranberries. But - excellent whole-grain taste and very moist, tender, and just a little bit of chew; a great base. I'll definitely make again! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Made these this morning, these are more of a cornbread type muffin. The millet was crunchy (I added 3/4 cup based on other reviews). I found them rather bland and thought they would be better with jam. I will make them again but will add more flavoring ingredients such as cranberries/walnuts or an extract. They would however be absolutely excellent with chili just as they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daunie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States