Millet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I adapted this recipe to make a non-gluten version as another reviewer has done. I substituted the flour with equal parts white rice flour, tapioca flour, and oat flour. Instead of buttermilk, I used sour cream and added a few tablespoons of regular milk to thin the mixture a bit. I also added about a cup of fresh blueberries and did not add millet. The muffins turned out very light and airy with a bit of a grainy texture (perhaps from the tapioca flour?). The only thing was that they were a tad dry even though I used sour cream. I would also add more honey/sweetener next time and fill the cups two thirds instead of halfway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
My husband and one year old son loved them. The honey really adds a sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerO

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I ground my own wheat for these. They turned out wonderfully well - not dense like many whole wheat recipes. I also added chocolate chips to a few as an experiment. It wasn't so great. But what was great was adding a teaspoon of apricot or blackberry jam to the middle of the muffins before baking. They were yummy! I will definitely use this recipe again. It's healthy and delicious and is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Made recipe as listed. I really liked these muffins. The added crunch from the millet was nice. Whole family loved them. I got 12 muffins that were a little over the top of muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
very nice for afternoon & evening snacks. i add a little more millet than stated, b/c i love the little crunchies. the only disappointment was that they're very crumbly & make a mess (which my dog appreciates!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
So good! Even my anti-health food hubby loved them. I did 2 cups wheat flour and 1/4 flaxmeal, and I added a dash of cinnamon. I made them into mini muffins and they took about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Yum! I AM guilty of changes - half applesauce for the oil, ground oatmeal and seven grains for the millet and part of the flour, and I also added walnuts, raisins, and cranberries. But - excellent whole-grain taste and very moist, tender, and just a little bit of chew; a great base. I'll definitely make again! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Made these this morning, these are more of a cornbread type muffin. The millet was crunchy (I added 3/4 cup based on other reviews). I found them rather bland and thought they would be better with jam. I will make them again but will add more flavoring ingredients such as cranberries/walnuts or an extract. They would however be absolutely excellent with chili just as they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daunie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I made these muffins today and added some dried fruits and walnuts. I also used applesauce fr the oil. These muffins are really yummy and the millet gives a great crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Penn Yan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This makes the best gluten-free muffin I have tasted--light, crunchy, sweet. I made the following changes to make it gluten-free: I used 1 cup of millet flour, then 1/2 cup each of the following: rice flour, white bean or fava bean flour, and amaranth or quinoa flour. Feel free to make other substitutions for these flours if you have other favorites. I also used soy milk instead of buttermilk, adding 1 Tbsp. of vinegar to the soy milk and letting it sit for five minutes. Great recipe--everyone loves it! The honey makes it irresistable to my sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States