Millet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by dcis1970
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
GREAT recipe! So easy! I made this just as instructed and the muffins were good. I was looking for a little more of a sweet muffin so I adjusted the salt to 1/8 tsp. and added 2 tbsp. of Splenda for baking. I also used 1 cup of whole wheat baking flour and 1 cup of millet flour and made up the additional 1/4 cup required with flax meal and wheat germ. In addition I used 1/2 the oil and 1/4 cup of unsweetened apple sauce. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcis1970

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
These were very good for a completely healthy muffin...be careful not to overcook because they don't taste good when you do. I'm not sure how much I like the crunch of the millet, but I love how good they are for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
oh my gosh! soooo tasty! I only changed the recipe by using 1/4c honey and 1/4c molasses. WILL make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5boys2cook4
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Very good muffin. I used white wheat that I ground at home. I think that helps make a lighter muffin. The millet adds nice variety. I made 12 instead of 16 muffins. You can fill the cups pretty full and not worry about them cooking over, then you don't have to cook 2 separate batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5boys2cook4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Yum! Followed the recipe exactly, my kids loved them. It's in the "Monday Morning Muffin" rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
These definitely had a different taste, but they were good. The slight crunch from the millet was nice. Only problem we had is that the flavor changed significantly overnight, so the leftovers weren't very appetizing. Definitely one to serve immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
These are so good! I did make a few adjustments based on what I had on hand and my quest for a super-fiberous muffin. I used 1/2 applesauce in place of 1/2 of the oil (I used canola to save on saturated fat). In place of the buttermilk (since I didn't have any on hand) I used almond milk with a few squirts of lime juice. I added 1 cup of cranberries and doubled the millet. In place of 1/3 of the whole wheat flour, I used flax meal and wheat bran. I also used agave nectar (b/c I didn't have honey on hand). They turned out very moist and delicious. Everyone loved them at work and I had to hide them from my husband! Now that's a good muffin! I will DEFINITELY make these again! Weekly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lina
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I like the crunchiness' of the millet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Yummy. I made 4 dozen mini-muffins, baked for 10 minutes. I manufactured "buttermilk" by adding a T of lemon juice to a cup of milk. I subbed 1/4 c non-fat vanilla yogurt for half the oil. Thanks for the recipe, Himeesgirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Great Recipe! I made these Gluten Free by substituting Bob's Red Mill GF mix and they were so light and fluffy. The millet was a nice crunchy surprise. A very different but pleasant muffin. Also, I had to sub yogurt for buttermilk since it was all I had on hand and it was great! Delicious with a little jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States