Millet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I love the crunch of the millet! I used whole grain millet instead of millet flour. I used soy milk instead of buttermilk. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Great recipe - lightly sweetened as promised - which is something that I like for a morning muffin. Used olive oil and the flavor came through along with the honey. The muffins were really fluffy, almost pancake like - but this maybe because I used a mixed white and bran flour - I imagine that a wheat flour would give it a more "muffin" texture. Really moist and light. If you're looking for a dense (cake-like) muffin - you may want to skip this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Wow! These muffins are GREAT! Finally, a muffin I can eat for breakfast and not feel guilty about! These taste great and are good for you, what's not to love? :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babylovespugs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Utterly tasteless. Unusually bland even for healthy muffins. I had to make subs, but no different than anyone else. I subbed barley malt syrup for honey, almond milk and lemon juice instead of buttermilk and yogurt for the oil. I can't imagine how to salvage them unless I bury them in peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
These muffins were delicious! Light and fluffy, not dense the way whole wheat muffins often are, with the perfect amount of sweetness. I ate one with dinner dipping it in soup (had no bread on hand), then later spread some jam in the middle and ate another as dessert! I second guessed the recipe and added a few more shakes of flour b/c I thought it looked too liquidy, but it actually would have been fine--I actually wish mine were a tad more moist. Instead of buttermilk, I used 1 c. soy milk + 1 tsp of apple cider vinegar (you let it sit and curdle for a few mins). Egg replacer works great as well, so these are easily made vegan. I also used 1/4 c. applesauce and 1/4 c. of oil to make it healthier. Next time I'm gonna up the millet content, but these were awesome--thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
love these muffins. followed recipe exactly. millet gives a nice crunch to the muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
These were really good...the baking soda flavor was detectable but not a huge distraction. I used half applesauce, half butter for the oil and added nutmeg, cinnamon and cloves. I like how theyre not too sweet. impossible to eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Absolutely the most fantastic muffins! I have used both sour milk and buttermilk and prefer the sour milk method. Every time I make these for dinner guests I get rave reviews and a request for the recipe! We don't even bother making corn bread anymore. These are too wonderful! The bonus is they are yummy as breakfast muffins too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
These muffins are great! I made them non-dairy by substituting soured soy milk (juice of one lime plus soy milk to measure one cup) for the buttermilk. My only complaint is that the bottoms ended up a little oily. I think I will substitute applesauce for half the oil next time. I will also make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
One question - is it millet flour or millet seeds that are used? Just confused by the ingredient list and the instructions. The picture looks like seeds, and some members mention crunch, but the instructions and others mention millet flour. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States