Millet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These have been made twice in as many days, here. They're delicious as written, but the second time around I added a cup of raisins I had soaked for 30 minutes in hot water to these muffins, as well as about 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. The raisins made these even better. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chemainus, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good for a whole grain muffin but a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I'm a novice when it comes to millet, and when people talked about the 'crunch' in the muffin, I almost got scared off. That didn't sound good. But it is! It's delicious! I didn't have quite all the ingredients so, following other reviewer's suggestions, I left out the egg and I mashed up an overripe pear to replace most of the oil. It was moist and tender, but still held together nicely. Because of the whole wheat flour, I was very surprised how much this muffin rose, and how light it was. It's not a sweet muffin, but it's great with honey butter, very nutritious, and the way I made it, completely guilt free. This is totally a keeper. EDIT: Having made these about a dozen times, I thought I'd mention a good variation we found - mashed pear as listed above, with 1 tsp cinnamon and a pinch of grated nutmeg. Just gives it a little depth, and makes the house smell good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I made this recipe as written the first time, and the muffins were a big hit. The second time, I added some mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, and my husband literally danced across the kitchen floor. This is definitely a keeper! One note: I thought it was better to make 12 muffins instead of 16.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Wow - these are GREAT! Love them. Will definitely keep the recipe. I doubled the millet (I did NOT use millet flour) and really liked the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Great as a wheat free muffin too! I replaced the wheat flour for rice, oat, and garbonzo flour and coconut oil for vegetable oil and added 1/4 tsp of xanthan too - - REALLY TASTY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Delicious and pretty darn healthy! I made a boatload of changes, in good allrecipes style. :) Used half honey and half agave, added a couple handfuls of toasted walnuts, added nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves and ginger, as well as raisins, dried cherries and dried cranberries. I was confused about whether to use whole millet or millet flour (the recipe refers to both), so I ground up 1/3 cup millet in my coffee grinder, then also threw in a handful of whole millet as well as a 1/3 cup oatmeal (decreased the whole wheat by 1/3). Also tossed in 2 tsp. ground flax as well as the same amount of chia seeds (they're even better for you than flax, have a longer shelf life, don't need grinding/opening of the seed like flax does, and they don't require refrigeration!). My muffins were a little darkish on the bottom so I'd recommend decreasing the bake time by a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maude s.
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
A very good healthy versatile muffin all around. These are very tasty and very easily adapted to whatever mood you might be in. I think it should be mentioned that if you are accustomed to a fair amount of sugar in your diet then these would not be qualified as sweet at all. I don't eat that much sugar and they were as mentioned very lightly sweet to me...to my husband...he said he couldn't taste sweetness at all. I very much enjoyed the different use of millet with this recipe, I'm always looking for ways to sneak in whole grains. I will def. be making these again thanks for a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
These are great!! Super healthy too!! I will need to decrease my baking time a bit - the bottoms just got burnt - but that is probably my oven's fault ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Very tasty and healthy. I accidentally forgot to add the oil and, if eaten fresh, you won't miss it. Makes a bit sturdier muffin, but works great for those who love a heartier, less cake-like texture. I used low fat buttermilk and add raisins, and the result was a low cal, low fat, tasty muffin - 160 calories and 1 g. of fat for 12 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States