Millet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These have been made twice in as many days, here. They're delicious as written, but the second time around I added a cup of raisins I had soaked for 30 minutes in hot water to these muffins, as well as about 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. The raisins made these even better. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chemainus, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good for a whole grain muffin but a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I'm a novice when it comes to millet, and when people talked about the 'crunch' in the muffin, I almost got scared off. That didn't sound good. But it is! It's delicious! I didn't have quite all the ingredients so, following other reviewer's suggestions, I left out the egg and I mashed up an overripe pear to replace most of the oil. It was moist and tender, but still held together nicely. Because of the whole wheat flour, I was very surprised how much this muffin rose, and how light it was. It's not a sweet muffin, but it's great with honey butter, very nutritious, and the way I made it, completely guilt free. This is totally a keeper. EDIT: Having made these about a dozen times, I thought I'd mention a good variation we found - mashed pear as listed above, with 1 tsp cinnamon and a pinch of grated nutmeg. Just gives it a little depth, and makes the house smell good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I made this recipe as written the first time, and the muffins were a big hit. The second time, I added some mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, and my husband literally danced across the kitchen floor. This is definitely a keeper! One note: I thought it was better to make 12 muffins instead of 16.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Wow - these are GREAT! Love them. Will definitely keep the recipe. I doubled the millet (I did NOT use millet flour) and really liked the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Great as a wheat free muffin too! I replaced the wheat flour for rice, oat, and garbonzo flour and coconut oil for vegetable oil and added 1/4 tsp of xanthan too - - REALLY TASTY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Delicious and pretty darn healthy! I made a boatload of changes, in good allrecipes style. :) Used half honey and half agave, added a couple handfuls of toasted walnuts, added nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves and ginger, as well as raisins, dried cherries and dried cranberries. I was confused about whether to use whole millet or millet flour (the recipe refers to both), so I ground up 1/3 cup millet in my coffee grinder, then also threw in a handful of whole millet as well as a 1/3 cup oatmeal (decreased the whole wheat by 1/3). Also tossed in 2 tsp. ground flax as well as the same amount of chia seeds (they're even better for you than flax, have a longer shelf life, don't need grinding/opening of the seed like flax does, and they don't require refrigeration!). My muffins were a little darkish on the bottom so I'd recommend decreasing the bake time by a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maude s.
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
A very good healthy versatile muffin all around. These are very tasty and very easily adapted to whatever mood you might be in. I think it should be mentioned that if you are accustomed to a fair amount of sugar in your diet then these would not be qualified as sweet at all. I don't eat that much sugar and they were as mentioned very lightly sweet to me...to my husband...he said he couldn't taste sweetness at all. I very much enjoyed the different use of millet with this recipe, I'm always looking for ways to sneak in whole grains. I will def. be making these again thanks for a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
These are great!! Super healthy too!! I will need to decrease my baking time a bit - the bottoms just got burnt - but that is probably my oven's fault ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Very tasty and healthy. I accidentally forgot to add the oil and, if eaten fresh, you won't miss it. Makes a bit sturdier muffin, but works great for those who love a heartier, less cake-like texture. I used low fat buttermilk and add raisins, and the result was a low cal, low fat, tasty muffin - 160 calories and 1 g. of fat for 12 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States