Millet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I used millet flour instead of whole millet and I think next time I'll try these with the whole millet instead. The texture was sort of dry and crumbly so I think it was too much flour. I also added in some raisins and pecans and for me they would have been a little too bland without them. I cut the honey in half because of adding the raisins and that worked out great - they were not very sweet which is what I prefer. I think this is a really great base recipe for a healthy muffin. I'll definitely make them again and will play around with additions (blueberries, coconut, walnuts, cinnamon, dried cherries.....).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Added maple syrup too, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I used whole millet and the kids and I really liked the crunch. Tasty as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
These were surprisingly good! I made them according to the recipe and didn't change anything, of course they're not overly-sweet but I thought they went very well with some honey butter for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RSharpe701

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timberville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dayton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Delicious! We put honey butter on them to sweeten them just a tad more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
These were really good! I noticed that the ingredients list said "millet" but the directions said "millet flour." I chose not to grind my millet, because I soaked my batter for about 8 hours to break down phytates and figured the millet would be soft enough to eat that way. It still added a nice crunch, somewhat reminiscent of a cornbread muffin. In fact these tasted a lot like corn muffins to me. But since I love corn muffins, it didn't bother me a bit! Will definitely make again - a good way to use millet! My only change was using coconut oil instead of canola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Wonderful recipe. I was very impressed by the lightly sweet taste of the muffin. I substituted coconut oil for the vegetable oil. I also added dried cranberries and apricots (about a 2/3 cup total)and it was delicious with the muffin base. My husband was very suspicious of the millet at first, but loved the muffins as well. I will certainly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Excellent recipe! I followed the review to substitute yogurt for half of the oil and I used coconut oil for the other half. I didn't have buttermilk so I added a dash of lime juice to 1/2 c. milk. For the other 1/2 c. liquid I used Naked berry juice just to give a little more sweetness. I also used a full cup of dry millet because I really like the crunch! The texture turned out great. They are not overly sweet (I did use the 1/2 c. honey), but I like them that way. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I added 1 tsp vanilla and about 2 tbsp cinnamon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I loved these!! They are a touch sweet, but not overly so and just a nice neutral muffin. You could easily modify by adding fruit or nuts or whatever, but they are also great as written!! Thanks for this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States