Millet Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This is delicious! I used milk instead of the water since I didn't have soy powder. Stirring halfway through gives it a good consistency. I did add pecans when it was done. We love it over ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannacook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This wasn't a "knock your socks off" recipe for me but I still gave it 5 stars because it's simple, creative, healthy, and delicious! I don't use soy so heated up 4 cups of coconut milk with 1 1/2 cups of water and used that instead. Other than that I made the recipe as directed. I can't wait to try it again with the addition of some cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice....possibly a rum extract instead of vanilla. I read another review that included dried fruit such as blueberries....that sounds delicious to me and I'll probably try that as well! Thank you for giving us a delicious recipe that uses a very healthy underused grain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I just made this in a water bath in the crockpot over night. It worked really well! I cut the water down to 4 cups, and cooked about 8 1/2 hours. I did soak my millet during the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This recipe needs no improvement.:-) The only thing I changed (other than changing the serving size to 12 for the size of my family) was using a can of coconut milk instead of the soy milk, because we avoid soy. The recipe cooked perfectly, and all 9 of us enjoyed it. I will be making this again and again! My children are thrilled to have another alternative to oatmeal. I used unsweetened coconut milk and unsweetened coconut, and we all thought this recipe was quite sweet enough as it was; the dates are enough to sweeten it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My New Years resolution is to eat healthier so I tried this for breakfast this morning. It was wonderful. I used unsweetened coconut so i added about 1/8 cup of agave nectar and also used unsweetened coconut milk since I did not have soy. This will be perfect to take to work for my breakfast. Can't wait to share it with the girls at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I love this dish. It was easy to make and delicious. I made with almond milk instead of the soy milk powder and water. I also substituted the coconut for dried pomegranates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djrosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I modified this a bit. 4 1/2 c. water and 1 c. almond milk. 4 chopped apples, 3/4 c. raisins instead of the dates. Cinnamon and nutmeg. Delicious! Next time I'll sprinkle roasted walnuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Great breakfast dish, and very simple to make. Perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I halved & modified this recipe a bit according to what I had around - 1/2 cup millet, 3 cups whole cow milk, 1/3 cup raisins, 1/4 cup coconut & 1/2 ts. pure vanilla extract. This was easy, quick and the result was a simple, mildly sweet, nutritious & delicious comfort food. I certainly plan on making again and trying variations (including dates & bananas which would add potassium as well). Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
We made it this morning and LOVED it! I made substitutions based on what I had and halved the recipe, but it was great and I'll definitely make it again. My changes were rice milk instead of soy powder and dried cranberries instead of dates. It surprised me how sweet it was without adding additional sugar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Couscous with a Kick!

This irresistible side dish is great at barbeques and potlucks.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States