Millet Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
We made it this morning and LOVED it! I made substitutions based on what I had and halved the recipe, but it was great and I'll definitely make it again. My changes were rice milk instead of soy powder and dried cranberries instead of dates. It surprised me how sweet it was without adding additional sugar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I halved & modified this recipe a bit according to what I had around - 1/2 cup millet, 3 cups whole cow milk, 1/3 cup raisins, 1/4 cup coconut & 1/2 ts. pure vanilla extract. This was easy, quick and the result was a simple, mildly sweet, nutritious & delicious comfort food. I certainly plan on making again and trying variations (including dates & bananas which would add potassium as well). Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My New Years resolution is to eat healthier so I tried this for breakfast this morning. It was wonderful. I used unsweetened coconut so i added about 1/8 cup of agave nectar and also used unsweetened coconut milk since I did not have soy. This will be perfect to take to work for my breakfast. Can't wait to share it with the girls at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Great breakfast dish, and very simple to make. Perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Millet is such a healthy grain that I enjoyed finding a recipe in which to use it. I loved this recipe. I used about 3/4 c raisins instead of dates because I had raisins on hand. Took some to my neighbor and she loved it too. I love that it has no added sugar, fats, or salt. And I enjoy the one dish preparation that took only 5 minutes. I'd eat this for breakfast, a meal or a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
So tasty, easy to make, and easy to adapt! My sons are allergic to soy and cow's milk, as well as coconut, so I had to tweak this--but it was super easy. I just used some goat's milk as a portion of the hot water amount (I think I had about 1/2 to 3/4 cups left in the carton that I used). Then instead of coconut I put in the same amount of dried blueberries. They rehydrated nicely while baking and gave a lovely fruity flavor to the cereal! The nice thing is that the dates (and the blueberries) give this all the sweetness it needs, so there's no need to add all sorts of sugar. I'll be making this again, and I'll probably experiment with other kinds of dried fruits as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
make sure you soak your millet overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
After stirring the casserole half way through the cooking time, sprinkle the top with 2/3 cup chopped walnuts. The nuts will toast as the casserole finishes cooking, and adds a teriffic crunch. Walnuts are a great source of Omega 3 fatty acids, while millet provides calcium, B vitamins and fiber. Millet is also a prebiotic. It feeds the good bacteria in the digestive system. Very healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nutrition Evangelist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I modified this a bit. 4 1/2 c. water and 1 c. almond milk. 4 chopped apples, 3/4 c. raisins instead of the dates. Cinnamon and nutmeg. Delicious! Next time I'll sprinkle roasted walnuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I love this dish. It was easy to make and delicious. I made with almond milk instead of the soy milk powder and water. I also substituted the coconut for dried pomegranates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djrosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Couscous with a Kick!

This irresistible side dish is great at barbeques and potlucks.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States