Millet Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
After stirring the casserole half way through the cooking time, sprinkle the top with 2/3 cup chopped walnuts. The nuts will toast as the casserole finishes cooking, and adds a teriffic crunch. Walnuts are a great source of Omega 3 fatty acids, while millet provides calcium, B vitamins and fiber. Millet is also a prebiotic. It feeds the good bacteria in the digestive system. Very healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Schrubbe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
So tasty, easy to make, and easy to adapt! My sons are allergic to soy and cow's milk, as well as coconut, so I had to tweak this--but it was super easy. I just used some goat's milk as a portion of the hot water amount (I think I had about 1/2 to 3/4 cups left in the carton that I used). Then instead of coconut I put in the same amount of dried blueberries. They rehydrated nicely while baking and gave a lovely fruity flavor to the cereal! The nice thing is that the dates (and the blueberries) give this all the sweetness it needs, so there's no need to add all sorts of sugar. I'll be making this again, and I'll probably experiment with other kinds of dried fruits as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
I have a similar recipe that I make -- only I use rum extract instead of vanilla and add a touch of nutmeg. If you have leftovers, you can add more milk/soymilk and reheat on the stove, mashing with a potato masher to loosen clumps. To really make it easy and rich, you can use eggnog (reg. or soy) when you make it or reheat it! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Millet is such a healthy grain that I enjoyed finding a recipe in which to use it. I loved this recipe. I used about 3/4 c raisins instead of dates because I had raisins on hand. Took some to my neighbor and she loved it too. I love that it has no added sugar, fats, or salt. And I enjoy the one dish preparation that took only 5 minutes. I'd eat this for breakfast, a meal or a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
make sure you soak your millet overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Good. I didn't have soy milk powder, so I used 1 c vanilla soy milk and 2 c soy water. (I halved the recipe.) I liked that it didn't have any added sugar, other than the fact that my dates were sugar-coated and I used sweetened coconut. It was sweet enought to eat as it without adding sugar or syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This recipe is great for the health-conscious. It is easy and tastes great. Use dates, figs, raisins, whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
I really wanted to like millet, but I can't. The texture is just awful. This recipe may be ok substituted with another grain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I modified this a bit. 4 1/2 c. water and 1 c. almond milk. 4 chopped apples, 3/4 c. raisins instead of the dates. Cinnamon and nutmeg. Delicious! Next time I'll sprinkle roasted walnuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This wasn't as delightful as I'd hoped it would be. Tasted a lot like cornmeal mush, and wasn't very sweet. It was good with maple syrup over it, and would be better without the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Couscous with a Kick!

This irresistible side dish is great at barbeques and potlucks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States