Millet Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
I really wanted to like millet, but I can't. The texture is just awful. This recipe may be ok substituted with another grain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
I have a similar recipe that I make -- only I use rum extract instead of vanilla and add a touch of nutmeg. If you have leftovers, you can add more milk/soymilk and reheat on the stove, mashing with a potato masher to loosen clumps. To really make it easy and rich, you can use eggnog (reg. or soy) when you make it or reheat it! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Millet is such a healthy grain that I enjoyed finding a recipe in which to use it. I loved this recipe. I used about 3/4 c raisins instead of dates because I had raisins on hand. Took some to my neighbor and she loved it too. I love that it has no added sugar, fats, or salt. And I enjoy the one dish preparation that took only 5 minutes. I'd eat this for breakfast, a meal or a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This dish tasted nice, but I found it very unsatisfying and was disappointed in it. The recipe sounded better than it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This recipe is great for the health-conscious. It is easy and tastes great. Use dates, figs, raisins, whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This wasn't as delightful as I'd hoped it would be. Tasted a lot like cornmeal mush, and wasn't very sweet. It was good with maple syrup over it, and would be better without the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Good. I didn't have soy milk powder, so I used 1 c vanilla soy milk and 2 c soy water. (I halved the recipe.) I liked that it didn't have any added sugar, other than the fact that my dates were sugar-coated and I used sweetened coconut. It was sweet enought to eat as it without adding sugar or syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
So tasty, easy to make, and easy to adapt! My sons are allergic to soy and cow's milk, as well as coconut, so I had to tweak this--but it was super easy. I just used some goat's milk as a portion of the hot water amount (I think I had about 1/2 to 3/4 cups left in the carton that I used). Then instead of coconut I put in the same amount of dried blueberries. They rehydrated nicely while baking and gave a lovely fruity flavor to the cereal! The nice thing is that the dates (and the blueberries) give this all the sweetness it needs, so there's no need to add all sorts of sugar. I'll be making this again, and I'll probably experiment with other kinds of dried fruits as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I don't know if I did something wrong or not it was like soup and never thickened up. The taste of millet does not seem to be for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This is a great gluten-free breakfast! I added 1/2 tsp salt after making it the first time and that helped boost the flavor. I make this 2-3 times/month, sometimes substituting 2 c. soy milk and 3 1/2 cups hot water for the soy milk powder and water. I also substitute half the dates for raisins. If my coconut is unsweetened, I add 1/8 to 1/4 cup sweetener (honey, sucanat or brown sugar). We eat this warm with milk and honey. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Couscous with a Kick!

This irresistible side dish is great at barbeques and potlucks.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States