Millet Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
We made it this morning and LOVED it! I made substitutions based on what I had and halved the recipe, but it was great and I'll definitely make it again. My changes were rice milk instead of soy powder and dried cranberries instead of dates. It surprised me how sweet it was without adding additional sugar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
After stirring the casserole half way through the cooking time, sprinkle the top with 2/3 cup chopped walnuts. The nuts will toast as the casserole finishes cooking, and adds a teriffic crunch. Walnuts are a great source of Omega 3 fatty acids, while millet provides calcium, B vitamins and fiber. Millet is also a prebiotic. It feeds the good bacteria in the digestive system. Very healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Schrubbe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
make sure you soak your millet overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This is a great gluten-free breakfast! I added 1/2 tsp salt after making it the first time and that helped boost the flavor. I make this 2-3 times/month, sometimes substituting 2 c. soy milk and 3 1/2 cups hot water for the soy milk powder and water. I also substitute half the dates for raisins. If my coconut is unsweetened, I add 1/8 to 1/4 cup sweetener (honey, sucanat or brown sugar). We eat this warm with milk and honey. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I don't know if I did something wrong or not it was like soup and never thickened up. The taste of millet does not seem to be for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
So tasty, easy to make, and easy to adapt! My sons are allergic to soy and cow's milk, as well as coconut, so I had to tweak this--but it was super easy. I just used some goat's milk as a portion of the hot water amount (I think I had about 1/2 to 3/4 cups left in the carton that I used). Then instead of coconut I put in the same amount of dried blueberries. They rehydrated nicely while baking and gave a lovely fruity flavor to the cereal! The nice thing is that the dates (and the blueberries) give this all the sweetness it needs, so there's no need to add all sorts of sugar. I'll be making this again, and I'll probably experiment with other kinds of dried fruits as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Good. I didn't have soy milk powder, so I used 1 c vanilla soy milk and 2 c soy water. (I halved the recipe.) I liked that it didn't have any added sugar, other than the fact that my dates were sugar-coated and I used sweetened coconut. It was sweet enought to eat as it without adding sugar or syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This wasn't as delightful as I'd hoped it would be. Tasted a lot like cornmeal mush, and wasn't very sweet. It was good with maple syrup over it, and would be better without the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This recipe is great for the health-conscious. It is easy and tastes great. Use dates, figs, raisins, whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This dish tasted nice, but I found it very unsatisfying and was disappointed in it. The recipe sounded better than it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Couscous with a Kick!

This irresistible side dish is great at barbeques and potlucks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States