Miller's Marinara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
The salt measurement is WAY TOO MUCH here. The submitter must have made a typo. There is NO way it should be 2 TABLESPOONS. I'm not even sure it should be 2 TEASPOONS. I used 1/2 tsp. of salt. I also did mine on top of the stove on low and let it simmer for four hours stirring occasionally. This is a five star recipe with a few changes besides the obvious salt. I used olive oil vs. canola - about half of that. In addition to the 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes I added a 28 oz. can of tomato sauce and used a 6 oz. can of tomato paste vs. the tomato puree. I also sauteed the onion in 3 cloves of garlic and left out the garlic powder from the sauce. I cut back the black pepper to 1/4 tsp. and added 1/4 c. of red wine. This is a wonderful thick, rich sauce. I served it with homemade meatballs and sausage. It's even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is an amazing recipe! Extremely easy, and delicious. While some reviewers complained about the herbs, I have to say that they MAKE this. I doubled the recipe, but DID limit the salt due to reviewers pointing out the typo. [seems someone at Allrecipes would correct this?] Also, in the doubling, just used 3 T of the garlic powder, dried oregano and basil. I used 1 T of salt, 1 T of pepper, and limited sugar to 2 T due to dietary restrictions. Served this to my husband - who is picky - to rave reviews.... then again at a dinner party, utilizing frozen leftovers. NO MORE JARRED SAUCES! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This is an awesome recipe. Just made it and it was delicious. I read other reviews and lowered the salt to 1 tsp. and it was good. It was really very (spicy) hot, but I might've used tablespoons instead of teaspoons for the pepper. But I like spicy so all is good, but I use teaspoons next time. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Like others, I disregarded the salt measurement. I actually did very little measuring of my ingredients when I made this, but it came out wonderful! Throw all the ingredients in my crock pot in the morning and when I got home, boil some pasta and have a wonderful dinner! I have actually HATED making spaghetti for a long time because all the jarred sauces I have used never tasted right to me. This one actually tasted better reheated a day or two later! I am keeping this recipe close at hand from now on! I'm very thrilled to find this incredible sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Based on previous reviews, I changed salt to 2tsps instead of tablespoons. I LOVE this sauce! Ease of prep/cooking and it filled my kitchen with a wonderful Italian aroma for the hours it was in the crock pot. I doubled the recipe and it freezed well. This tasted like an authentic Italian sauce without the fuss. It is now my go-to marinara recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Just made this and it is EXCELLENT!!! I agree that Emibanana must have made a typo with the salt measurement, so I used just 2 tsp. I was looking for a low-sugar marinara sauce, but of course can't find it ready made. So I made this without adding sugar, just a little Splenda (it probably really didn't even need that). If my basic math skills haven't failed me, my calculations say that this has less than 2 grams of sugar per 1/4 cup serving. Perfect for me. Plus MUCH better than any jar sauce I've tried!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
We found this marinara to be the best yet. I doubled the recipe (except for salt) and tossed in the slow cooker a large bag of frozen meatballs. This was a "yummer!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Easy and delicious! Made with Meatball Nirvana from this site. Big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenkaa55

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
this is a very nice sauce that will work for many pasta dishes. change the amount of salt to 2 tea spoons and you will be ok. as many others said it must be a misprint as the table spoons will kill this sauce. i would recomend the slow cooker way as this will really brino out all the flavors. you may also want to remove some of the oil that will come to the top at the end of the 8 hours although you can just mix it back in if you like. i prefer to remove it myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
My family LOVES this recipe. I use olive oil instead of canola, about 2TBS dried italian seasoning and minced garlic. The tomatoe puree I use a 6-8oz can. I generally make meatballs with this one and throw them in to cook with the sauce. I have a BUNCH of PICKY eaters here and NOT ONE COMPLAINT from any of them lol. This recipe freezes VERY WELL, great for my husband to take out of the freezer on nights I'm not able to cook and VIOLA instant dad success on dinner..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States