Miller's Marinara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I've made this quite a few times and really wanted to like it! The base is excellent, however the huge amount of herbs used aren't to my liking. I have adjusted the ingredients based on my preference, but I prefer to rate a recipe on the way it was written without including any variations I may have made. As it is written, I give this recipe 3 stars for personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
i like it. I prefer less onion and use olive oil instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I reduced the salt as previous reviews recommended. I liked it, but found it a little too strong on the oregano flavour and will cut back on it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Great base recipe. I needed to make a few adjustments though. I doubled the recipe, but reduced the salt and pepper. Also, I added a couple tablespoons of Balsamic vinegar and olive oil directly to the sauce mixture rather than use the oil to saute the onions. The onions were also added chopped and raw to the sauce mixture with a teaspoon of red pepper flakes. Great base recipe, thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
A great basic marinara recipe! I adjusted the salt to 2 tsp., as many other cooks did (pretty sure "2 Tbsp" is a typing error). Instead of garlic powder, I used frozen garlic cubes that I get from Trader Joe's (1 cube = 1 clove). Used 4 cubes, as we love our garlic. Accidentally left slow cooker on high for the first few hours, but after a good stirring & another hour & 1/2 on low, it was lovely & thick, with a rich tomato flavor.. so perhaps that was a happy accident, as we were able to eat a bit sooner. I'd actually cook it that way next time, too. An excellent topping for thick-gauge spaghetti, & wonderful partner for Meatball Nirvana meatballs (which are a *must-try*!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkyEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I took the advice about reducing the salt. Used 1 TBSP and should have used 2 tsp. I'll do that next time. I ran out of garlic powder, so used some of that and some minced garlic (the kind in the jar). Didn't have any basil, so used some "Italian Seasoning." Used a can of tomato paste instead of tomato puree; it made a nice thick sauce. I also reduced the sugar to 1 TBSP. I added a "slurp" of red wine. I cooked it on the stove for about an hour (because we were hungry) and it was good. I would make this again. I plan to freeze the remaining sauce. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Just made this and it is EXCELLENT!!! I agree that Emibanana must have made a typo with the salt measurement, so I used just 2 tsp. I was looking for a low-sugar marinara sauce, but of course can't find it ready made. So I made this without adding sugar, just a little Splenda (it probably really didn't even need that). If my basic math skills haven't failed me, my calculations say that this has less than 2 grams of sugar per 1/4 cup serving. Perfect for me. Plus MUCH better than any jar sauce I've tried!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Based on previous reviews, I changed salt to 2tsps instead of tablespoons. I LOVE this sauce! Ease of prep/cooking and it filled my kitchen with a wonderful Italian aroma for the hours it was in the crock pot. I doubled the recipe and it freezed well. This tasted like an authentic Italian sauce without the fuss. It is now my go-to marinara recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
The salt measurement is WAY TOO MUCH here. The submitter must have made a typo. There is NO way it should be 2 TABLESPOONS. I'm not even sure it should be 2 TEASPOONS. I used 1/2 tsp. of salt. I also did mine on top of the stove on low and let it simmer for four hours stirring occasionally. This is a five star recipe with a few changes besides the obvious salt. I used olive oil vs. canola - about half of that. In addition to the 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes I added a 28 oz. can of tomato sauce and used a 6 oz. can of tomato paste vs. the tomato puree. I also sauteed the onion in 3 cloves of garlic and left out the garlic powder from the sauce. I cut back the black pepper to 1/4 tsp. and added 1/4 c. of red wine. This is a wonderful thick, rich sauce. I served it with homemade meatballs and sausage. It's even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
this was a very nice and simple sauce. I used a can of diced tomatoes and tomato sauce, as that was all I had, but the spice mix was just right. I finished it with a splash of balsamic vinegar - used this as the sauce for chicken parmesean. Thanks for the easy pantry alternative to storebought sauces
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States