Miller's Marinara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I'm willing to give this another try someday, but what a disaster! Followed the recipe exactly, and all I ended up with was burnt sauce. I had the crockpot on the right setting and for the correct amount of time. But about an hour before the timer was to go off, I started smelling something burning. And sure enough, the outer edges of the sauce were black. And the bits I could salvage just tasted heavy in seasoning. No lightness, no real flavor or depth. Just an overpowering taste of the spices. Other people rate this sauce high so it must have been my mistake somewhere, but the result I got was awful. What a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nutley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Like others, I disregarded the salt measurement. I actually did very little measuring of my ingredients when I made this, but it came out wonderful! Throw all the ingredients in my crock pot in the morning and when I got home, boil some pasta and have a wonderful dinner! I have actually HATED making spaghetti for a long time because all the jarred sauces I have used never tasted right to me. This one actually tasted better reheated a day or two later! I am keeping this recipe close at hand from now on! I'm very thrilled to find this incredible sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
My family LOVES this recipe. I use olive oil instead of canola, about 2TBS dried italian seasoning and minced garlic. The tomatoe puree I use a 6-8oz can. I generally make meatballs with this one and throw them in to cook with the sauce. I have a BUNCH of PICKY eaters here and NOT ONE COMPLAINT from any of them lol. This recipe freezes VERY WELL, great for my husband to take out of the freezer on nights I'm not able to cook and VIOLA instant dad success on dinner..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is an amazing recipe! Extremely easy, and delicious. While some reviewers complained about the herbs, I have to say that they MAKE this. I doubled the recipe, but DID limit the salt due to reviewers pointing out the typo. [seems someone at Allrecipes would correct this?] Also, in the doubling, just used 3 T of the garlic powder, dried oregano and basil. I used 1 T of salt, 1 T of pepper, and limited sugar to 2 T due to dietary restrictions. Served this to my husband - who is picky - to rave reviews.... then again at a dinner party, utilizing frozen leftovers. NO MORE JARRED SAUCES! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This recipe is currently in the slow cooker, simmering away. I doubled my batch but I still only used 1.5 tsp of salt and 3 Tbsp of sugar. Threw in a few sprinkles of thyme and rosemary too. I gave it a quick taste test before sealing the lid on the crock; tastes amazing already! Thrilled to use it in tomorrow's lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
BEWARE OF SALT! This was a pretty good sauce next time ill use 1 1/2 tablespoons of the seasonings and I used 4 tablespoons oF sugar we like a sweeter sauce I also used 1 tablespoon of salt and that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
this is a very nice sauce that will work for many pasta dishes. change the amount of salt to 2 tea spoons and you will be ok. as many others said it must be a misprint as the table spoons will kill this sauce. i would recomend the slow cooker way as this will really brino out all the flavors. you may also want to remove some of the oil that will come to the top at the end of the 8 hours although you can just mix it back in if you like. i prefer to remove it myself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This is simmering now. I used extra virgin olive oil instead of canola oil (I don't keep canola oil on hand) and I sauteed what my husband calls "a boatload" of garlic in with the onion instead of using garlic powder. I did not add all the salt or pepper called for, just a pinch of salt and a fair amount of fresh ground pepper. It smells great. Very simple to make. I'll update my review once we've tasted it with our meatballs. EDITED: Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This is an awesome recipe. Just made it and it was delicious. I read other reviews and lowered the salt to 1 tsp. and it was good. It was really very (spicy) hot, but I might've used tablespoons instead of teaspoons for the pepper. But I like spicy so all is good, but I use teaspoons next time. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Easy and delicious! Made with Meatball Nirvana from this site. Big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenkaa55

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States