Milk Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
After reading the reviews, i must say i'm very surprised, mmm... this crust is not soft at all! you have to wait until it's completely cooled. To make sure that your tarts remain crusty, do not chill them (the crust could become soggy in the fridge). Mine also puffed up, and i had a hard time trying to remove them from the pan, but that's baking, we can't always blame the recipe. I had to add more flour, an extra tablespoon or so, but that was because of the eggs, we have our own chickens and they lay huge eggs, that's for sure! I also made mini tarts, and right after removing them from the oven, started pressing the center and sides of each tart with my thumb, so there'd be enough room for the custard later. I promise, when they cooled they were crusty and delicious. I was a bit skeptical about the custard, used a vanilla bean instead of the vanilla extract, but it was bland. After eating one of the tarts, i only can say both the crust and custard pair perfectly, the crust contains enough sugar to offset the lack of it in the custard. These tarts are not good, they are scrumptious!!!! Added more sugar to the leftover custard, and served it in individual cups. Thank you Rene!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This was really awesome. I make this into mini tarts using muffin tin and get 24 medium tartlets. As for the ground cinnamon, I added 1/2 teaspoon of brown sugar to it before sprinkle it and within 1/2 an hour 12 pieces is gone without being chilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
A South Africa native brought a Milk Tart to a potluck I attended several years ago. I was intriqued then and happy that this recipe tastes exactly like I remember his did. It was delicious plain and I also enjoyed a berry sauce and a chocolate sauce on top. It gets only three stars because the crust stuck to the glass pie dish - it came out looking more like cookies in pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Made this for a church group and they were wowed. Made in mini-muffin tins, so could be finger food for large gathering. If making in pie plate, need to spray so it doesn't stick. Everyone wanted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
I have been looking for this recipe for years! My family spent a few years living in South Africa and my Mother loves Milk Tart, finally I could make her one. She was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
it was great. easy and yummy! we used 2% milk, but i think we needed to use whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
All I can say is wow...being from South Africa, and being able to make this is wow...easy to make and extremely delicious to eat...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
Not bad, but I think I would have preferred a crisper sugar cookie crust. Mine puffed and remained soft after baking. The pie was extremely sweet, too -- might be improved with some lemon zest or oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
Delicious light and easy pie. The milk topping is similar to a pudding, but lighter. Crust is great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I just made a batch of these, the only thing I did different, was that I made little tarts, instead of huge pie sized ones. They did puff up when I took them out of the oven, but I used a Tart shaper wooder kitchen tool, to press them back into form. If you don't have this tool, you could always use a small spoon. I noticed that if you chill your tarts upon completion that the crust will be chewy, kind of like a sugar cookie. If you cook the tarts an extra 5 minutes longer, the crust will become more crunchy. Either way both taste delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States