Milk Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I had a friend from S Africa come over so I surprised him and his wife with this treat. He assured me it was very much a S African thing and said the dish was better then one he use to travel over an hour just to get. I suspect he was just being nice, but still - it tasted authentic to him. I used a double boiler which is gentler on the milk. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is excellent! I was lazy and dumped it into a store bought crust with good results. My only complaint is that it's so airy and yummy, that you can eat the entire tart in one sitting. I ladled a little bit of a sweet cranberry sauce (fruit pie filling type) over a couple pieces for a bit of zing - also tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolate_frenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This turned out really well - looked good & tasted good. I wanted only 1 tart so I just halved all the measurements, and that worked out fine. The only adjustment I made was to decrease the amount of sugar in the crust by just a bit. I've always like the milk and fresh strawberries combo, so I served this with fresh strawberries. Delicious! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This turned out perfect. I learned from other reviews about sticking to the pan, so I coated it with nonstick spray first, and it didn't stick one bit. Not one problem with it, my South African husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I loved it. I love custards and pies. This sure was a mess to make though. Get ready to get a lot of dishes dirty. Make sure it is completely cooled off or it is not going to look pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This was very good. Most certainly will make again. I served this with fresh, crushed raspberries. Everyone was pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This is one of my most favorite desserts! I made one once for a party...and now it's a tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! As a person who has lived in South Africa, but now in the US I am so happy to come across this recipe. Tastes almost identical to what I used to get back in my high school days. Really great recipe and very easy to follow. THANK YOU once again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Belgium
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This is fabulous. After having Milk tart in South Africa, I was in search for a similar recipe. I love the crust. It is similar to shortbread. I served it to guests and they went home with the recipe. Their 12 yr old daughter wants it for her birthday. I wouldn't change a thing. I did add a bit of the hot liquid to the egg mixture, just in case. It turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
The crust was so difficult to work with. Hard to press against the sides of the pie plate - ended up lumpy and uneven. How on earth did one do this with a mini muffin tin? The filling is great though. Would recommend buying a frozen pie crust or tart shells to save on time, then just make the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States