Milk Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I was really surprised by how good this turned out. It was different than other custard desserts I have had. It has a really delicate, subtle flavor. It is very sweet with a light texture. The cinnamon on top is just the right touch. I would definately make this again. It is a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Made this for my book club when we read a book about south Africa. We enjoyed this treat that hopefully was authentic to the south African palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
It has been ten years since ive had this tart , i think i have a very large irish following now , ive made eight so far an every body loves them specialy me . lets just say ive made up for ten years . Fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DChapps

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Awesome! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
made this for a church function...it was the 1st dessert gone!!! can't wait to enjoy this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Excellent recipe, brought back memories of home. Quick, simple and easy to make. I cheated however, I used a graham cracker crust. Still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Holy.Cow. I'm fighting from eating the whole thing in one sitting. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
My new sister in law is from SA, so for a dinner, I wanted something familiar to her since she has been eating "American" so much. I loved this, and she raved that it was delightful as well. I made one full pie then the extra I put into muffin tins for mini tarts. We liked those even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is the best custard filling I have ever made! It firms up nicely for cutting and serving but is smooth inside your mouth. It also has a much more pleasing flavor than custards with more egg in them. The crust was also delicious. Kind of like a giant soft sugar cookie. It puffs A LOT so spread it as thin as you can in your tart pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Came out just like South African Melktert, my South African husband was proud! However I used full cream milk and doubled the filling. And would suggest piercing the crust with a fork before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhorn, Nebraska, USA
Living In: West Bay, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States