Milk Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
realy good and for a first time it was excellent. but nexxt time i will use less base cause it was too think compared to the milk part. should have used the recommended baking tray but it was too late.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by June

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Yum! A great recipe, however the crust was difficult. I pressed it into mini-muffin tins for mini-tarts. At the end of baking they had risen to completely fill the tins, so I pressed them down with the back of a coffee scoop. Then I had a heck of a time getting them out of the pan, even though they were greased. Only half of them could actually hold filling. The other half I crumbled into the bottom of a full pie pan. Can't say that any of them looked very pretty, but they are TASTY! My husband and I aren't really fans of traditional pie crusts but this cookie-like crust is awesome. Next time if I want mini tarts I'll just use muffin liners, and save time by not carefully shaping the dough before cooking--just press it down at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
wow, what a wonderful recipe. Tastes just the way my mom used to make it!!! thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is a very interesting dessert and it is different compared to most pastries I have tried. This pie was o.k., I felt that more flavor could have been added to this dish. The custard was a bit runny but turned out alright. Otherwise, thank you very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I made this for my sons preschool teacher -she grew up in South Africa. She loved it!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I just made a batch of these, the only thing I did different, was that I made little tarts, instead of huge pie sized ones. They did puff up when I took them out of the oven, but I used a Tart shaper wooder kitchen tool, to press them back into form. If you don't have this tool, you could always use a small spoon. I noticed that if you chill your tarts upon completion that the crust will be chewy, kind of like a sugar cookie. If you cook the tarts an extra 5 minutes longer, the crust will become more crunchy. Either way both taste delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This is a great way to use up milk before it spoils. I was in a hurry so skipped the crust and poured it directly into the pie plate and also made some individual servings in small ramekins. It was a nice treat. I also experimented with flavor by adding a cinnamon stick and a few cloves to the milk when bringing to a boil which I removed before chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is the first time I am rating a recipe (although many of them I have taken of this site would have merited 5 star). This Milk Tart is exquisite! I just reduced the sugar a little bit. It was baked for one of our South African friends in celebration of his birthday. Many thanks Rene, also especially to your friend for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I used to like in South Africa and loved milk tarts. This recipe is just how I remember them. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States