Milk Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
The crust was so difficult to work with. Hard to press against the sides of the pie plate - ended up lumpy and uneven. How on earth did one do this with a mini muffin tin? The filling is great though. Would recommend buying a frozen pie crust or tart shells to save on time, then just make the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I was worried when making the crust b/c it looked more like cookie dough, and I basically had to just spread it in the bottom of the pie plate, forget trying to pat it up the sides. After baking it, it looked like a big sugar cookie. But I plugged on with the recipe and made the custard part, then let it chill overnight. When I tried a slice this morning I was pleasantly surprised, it was really quite good! The crust was really thick and tasted like a sugar cookie and the custard was so smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I love this recipe since the ingredients are always stocked here. This was a hit with everyone and a great way to use up the milk. I've made this in both pie and muffin pans and prefer the latter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I just finished trying this recipe, in fact the crust only. Well, have to admit that it's quite disappointed to me. This is not the way I suppose the crust should be. It sticked to those mini tart pans I used and had puffed up during baking. The texture was a bit soft at the bottom. Here where I live we prefer thin and crispy tart shell. So I would say that it's more about different preference. Although those crusts tasted quite good, I have thrown all of them away. Next time I may try this recipe with another crust and will come back to write a review again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This was really awesome. I make this into mini tarts using muffin tin and get 24 medium tartlets. As for the ground cinnamon, I added 1/2 teaspoon of brown sugar to it before sprinkle it and within 1/2 an hour 12 pieces is gone without being chilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This is just the rt amount of sweetness and rich cream for my family. We had a problem with the crust not coming up at first, but after it set out for a few minutes, it was much easier to get out. Might would use store bought crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
G'day! I made these milk tarts in the small tart shells, and they turned out very well! Such yummy taste and not too sweet! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
All I can say is wow...being from South Africa, and being able to make this is wow...easy to make and extremely delicious to eat...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Made this for a church group and they were wowed. Made in mini-muffin tins, so could be finger food for large gathering. If making in pie plate, need to spray so it doesn't stick. Everyone wanted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
A South Africa native brought a Milk Tart to a potluck I attended several years ago. I was intriqued then and happy that this recipe tastes exactly like I remember his did. It was delicious plain and I also enjoyed a berry sauce and a chocolate sauce on top. It gets only three stars because the crust stuck to the glass pie dish - it came out looking more like cookies in pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States