Milk Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I loved it. I love custards and pies. This sure was a mess to make though. Get ready to get a lot of dishes dirty. Make sure it is completely cooled off or it is not going to look pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This was very good. Most certainly will make again. I served this with fresh, crushed raspberries. Everyone was pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This is one of my most favorite desserts! I made one once for a party...and now it's a tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! As a person who has lived in South Africa, but now in the US I am so happy to come across this recipe. Tastes almost identical to what I used to get back in my high school days. Really great recipe and very easy to follow. THANK YOU once again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Belgium
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This is fabulous. After having Milk tart in South Africa, I was in search for a similar recipe. I love the crust. It is similar to shortbread. I served it to guests and they went home with the recipe. Their 12 yr old daughter wants it for her birthday. I wouldn't change a thing. I did add a bit of the hot liquid to the egg mixture, just in case. It turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
The crust was so difficult to work with. Hard to press against the sides of the pie plate - ended up lumpy and uneven. How on earth did one do this with a mini muffin tin? The filling is great though. Would recommend buying a frozen pie crust or tart shells to save on time, then just make the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I was worried when making the crust b/c it looked more like cookie dough, and I basically had to just spread it in the bottom of the pie plate, forget trying to pat it up the sides. After baking it, it looked like a big sugar cookie. But I plugged on with the recipe and made the custard part, then let it chill overnight. When I tried a slice this morning I was pleasantly surprised, it was really quite good! The crust was really thick and tasted like a sugar cookie and the custard was so smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I love this recipe since the ingredients are always stocked here. This was a hit with everyone and a great way to use up the milk. I've made this in both pie and muffin pans and prefer the latter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I just finished trying this recipe, in fact the crust only. Well, have to admit that it's quite disappointed to me. This is not the way I suppose the crust should be. It sticked to those mini tart pans I used and had puffed up during baking. The texture was a bit soft at the bottom. Here where I live we prefer thin and crispy tart shell. So I would say that it's more about different preference. Although those crusts tasted quite good, I have thrown all of them away. Next time I may try this recipe with another crust and will come back to write a review again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This was really awesome. I make this into mini tarts using muffin tin and get 24 medium tartlets. As for the ground cinnamon, I added 1/2 teaspoon of brown sugar to it before sprinkle it and within 1/2 an hour 12 pieces is gone without being chilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States