Milk Chocolate Florentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I am giving this five stars, if made correctly. The way it is written with the omission of pointers, it rates about a three. First of all.... Use parchment paper and they slide right off! Not wax paper and not foil!! Do not oil or spray parchment paper, not necessary. Add some crushed almonds and an extra tsp. of vanilla (or almond extract), and extra pinch of sea salt to improve the bland flavor (as written). ROTATE cookie sheet half way during baking! HEAPING tsp. of batter works best here, level tsp. is too small and Tbsp. is too much. USE half and half of semi sweet mixed with milk chocolate! And.... if you want, you can drizzle the baked cookies with the chocolate instead of painting the bottoms. One last thing..... if you like coconut, the addition of it tastes great with the almonds and chocolate! Remember... the cooking time will depend solely on your oven..... watch first batch carefully to determine the temp you will need to use. If made with these changes.... you will get a gorgeous cookie, perfectly chewy in the middle and a bit brittle and lightly browned around the edges, Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Yummy yummy. We also put dulce de Leche inside with the chocolate. Awesome cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Well, my adult son has dubbed these his new favorite cookie. They're so pretty, too. I did use Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate instead of milk chocolate, but that was my only change. He even tried to steal them from my mother's tray! Definitely a keeper....little time-consuming, but worth it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Love this recipe!! Very Yummy!! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zeebee
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
these are crisp, elegant and delicious. i am usually a dark chocolate girl, so i tried them both ways. in these, i actually preferred the milk chocolate. my first batch of cookies spread all into one huge cookie. i even have XL baking sheets and i could put no more than 8 per batch, so these were very time consuming. totally worth it though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeebee
Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I have heavy duty metal cookie sheets, so I found with this recipe that I needed to slightly flatten each mound of dough before placing them in the oven in order for each cookie to completely spread out. I used a teaspoons sized scoop. Be careful the edges brown very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Not one of our favorite cookies. Taste was just ok. Mine looked kind of ugly, wouldn't make them to give to people. Probably wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
These were so good last year, I couldn't wait to make them again! I thought they tasted just like Pepperidge Farms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Delicious! Very easy to make. Decided to use semi-sweet chocolate chips instead as we like them better than milk chocolate. Be sure to let them cool on the pan before removing from pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I made this recipe because I had odds and ends from Christmas baking to use up. I increased the yield to 64 servings to increase the butter to 1 c. It made 58 cookies using my 1 tbsp scoop, I had no problem with batter spreading, double the vanilla as it is a bit bland. I didn't make sandwiches, just spread the top with dark chocolate using an off set spatula. Nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States