Milk Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
This is one of the tastiest loaves I have ever made. Had to add a couple of extra TBSP milk and I prefer to use the dough setting and bake in the oven otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Sooooo good! This has become my new go-to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I have a new Cuisinart bread maker and have been looking for a perfect, everyday bread recipe for my family. This recipe was probably the 10th one I had tried and it didn't last a day! My family asked that I only make this one from now on and everytimem they'd hear the machine going for the next month they'd double check with me to make sure I wasn't trying something different. I did try another reviewer's suggestion of heating the milk and mixing the yeast in to proof for 10 minutes, then I read on my bread machine yeast that you're never to let it touch liquids so I tried it the traditional way of layering ingredients per the machine's instructions and both ways worked but I do believe that the 2nd version turned out a better loaf. I think sometimes the issue that people have with recipes, especially ones this simple are either a low functioning machine or lower quality ingredients. The only time this has turned out less than stellar for me is when I subbed in some wheat flour and didn't set it on the wheat bread setting. I use King Arthur brand flour, Fleishmann's bread machine yeast, Zulca Marena sugar, Kosher salt and Braum's milk (which isn't available everywhere), point being that a better quality ingredient with almost always turn out a better quality item unless there is a flaw somewhere in the recipe. IF you're a budget shopper it may be harder to spend a little more but in our case, this is the only bread we eat so it's worth a few $$ more to get it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenandMaggie McClain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Made this 3 times and ended up with 3 boat anchors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I used honey rather than refined sugar. The bread was absolutely beautiful and delicious. I used the white bread setting on my bread machine that doesn't adjust the timer less than 3 hours, so I just set the oven timer for 2.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by violetng
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This is my first bread and I mainly followed the hold recipes. However, after go though the reviews, I also added extra milk(about 10ml) and a small piece of salted butter (get a wrong one in supermarket). I use 1 tea spoon quick-rise yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was lovely bread my boys loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I just bought a new bread machine 2 days ago. The first loaf I made was this recipe. It turned out great. I read alot of reviews about the bread sinking. I was so afraid mine would too. I don't know what I did, but the loaf was perfect. My husband ate 2 slices as soon as it cooled. I will be making this alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Very yummy! I live in a very humid place so the dough was quite sticky. I added a little extra flour as it was mixing but it still fell and came out looking like minecraft bread. Delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I read all the reviews before baking this bread. Unfortunately I am in the camp of those who had their bread fall flat. I will not be making this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Very simple, soft white bread that made hubs happy. He prefers softer breads, and this fit the bill. I had to add more liquid, so I added 1 1/4 cups milk for each loaf (I doubled this recipe) and the consistency was slightly dry even then, so it probably does need adjusting most times. I usually make the dough in the bread machine, then bake it--we just prefer the crust that way in this house. I baked at 40 mins for 350 and it was a perfect consistency for my husband's taste. This is just a basic bread, so if you want more flavor, you'll have to add spices or add ins like dried fruit or nuts. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States