Milk Braised Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ken from CA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Any pork loin will work for this. Tying it just helps maintain its shape. And my recipe didn't call for it to be trimmed. Actually, you want some fat on it. Fat is flavor. If you cover this completely, it will overcook. The lid should be about 3/4 on so it can vent over a nice simmer. I think people are covering this or cooking over too high a heat, because this is one of the most foolproof ways to cook pork LOIN (not tenderloin).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Wonderful, easy concept of cooking a pork loin and tasty gravy all in one pot. I always know when a recipe's a keeper when I watch my husband's face after the first bite, and see his eyebrows raise up in approval. He commented on the tenderness of the chops and tasty gravy. (I checked with Ken about using extra thick pork loin chops a/o that's what I had in the freezer. They worked just fine.) We like bold, savory flavors so in addition to 1/2 tsp of dried rosemary, I added 1/2 tsp each of sage and thyme. Very nice, Ken. Well done. Cathy in CA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
When i was preparing this recipe, i thought i must be doing something wrong because it looked weird and how could curdled milk possibly taste good. Well, don't be fooled, although it does not have the prettiest presentation, the flavor is amazing. Highly recommend and im sure any pork roast would work fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Delicious. A very tender, moist pork loin. Tying I did not do and had no problem with it. I asked Ken, in the exchange, if I had done the sauce right. He said it should have been cooked longer til it turned more brown. Albeit, it wasn't a nutty brown it was still very, very good. Thanks for the recipe Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
A perfect recipe, fulfilling every criteria of a 5-star rating--thanks, Ken from CA! The ingredient list is accurate & the instructions clear. If anything, this underpromises & overdelivers. (Three times, my normally-quiet husband said, “My God, this is good.”) Specifics: (1) PREPARATION. Easy! This is a restaurant-quality dish, which puzzled our dinner guests, who asked if my schedule had changed since it seemed I’d been cooking all afternoon. (2) RELIABILITY. Follow the instructions & there’s no way to mess this up. (I made a couple of mistakes—the phone rang while I brought the milk to a boil; no problem—just skim the overboil and add more milk. I also set my gas burner too high, allowing the milk to boil down too quickly; adding more milk was an instant fix.) (3) FLEXIBILITY. Don’t hesitate if you have a smaller loin, or maybe a larger one (as in our case). Substitute garlic salt for regular, if you wish. Etc. (4) PLATING. Carving‘s a pleasure because the pork’s just-right tender and manageable. (5) SERVICE. There are a variety of options. Since the finished pork and gravy looked scrumptious, I decided to carve at the table, thus set the whole loin on an oblong serving dish, surrounding it with sliced tomatoes and mixed lettuce leaves. (6) BONUS. The gravy makes itself! * DO* COOK DOWN THE MILK TILL IT’S THICK, CURDLED AND GOLDEN BROWN. THE SAVORY KERNELS WILL POP IN YOUR MOUTH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
YUM! My roast was half the size of the one called for so I halved the recipe and there wasn't really enough sauce, so if you reduce the milk and other ingredients, only do so by maybe a quarter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was so easy and turned out really tasty. I used pork tenderloin which made it even better. Also, I didn't bother with tying it at all, just sliced off the silver skin and got started. Delicious and super easy recipe that was a hit at my dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is a recipe that I had saved almost from the day it was published and never got around to making until tonight. I had some pork medallions that were in my freezer needing to be used. I decided that if this recipe was intended for a roast, then it would also be fine with what I had, and right I was. Followed the recipe exactly only I did up the garlic to two cloves and used dried rosemary. I do think it's essential that a heavy bottomed dutch oven be used. It produces a nice even heat distribution for even cooking and no problem with recreating the sauce to look like it was intended. Great job Ken and thanks for thinking outside the "box" with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by dj
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was so simple to make and yet so delicious. I just followed the recipe and instructions and it turned out perfectly. Thank you Ken for a fantastic recipe. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I used 2% milk and this turned out great - don't over salt your pork or the sauce will be salty (I didn't measure the salt and it was a tad salty but not too much). Since I didn't allow my picky kids to eat this with ketchup they tried the sauce and all but the 3 year old liked it. Thanks Ken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States