Milk Braised Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
A perfect recipe, fulfilling every criteria of a 5-star rating--thanks, Ken from CA! The ingredient list is accurate & the instructions clear. If anything, this underpromises & overdelivers. (Three times, my normally-quiet husband said, “My God, this is good.”) Specifics: (1) PREPARATION. Easy! This is a restaurant-quality dish, which puzzled our dinner guests, who asked if my schedule had changed since it seemed I’d been cooking all afternoon. (2) RELIABILITY. Follow the instructions & there’s no way to mess this up. (I made a couple of mistakes—the phone rang while I brought the milk to a boil; no problem—just skim the overboil and add more milk. I also set my gas burner too high, allowing the milk to boil down too quickly; adding more milk was an instant fix.) (3) FLEXIBILITY. Don’t hesitate if you have a smaller loin, or maybe a larger one (as in our case). Substitute garlic salt for regular, if you wish. Etc. (4) PLATING. Carving‘s a pleasure because the pork’s just-right tender and manageable. (5) SERVICE. There are a variety of options. Since the finished pork and gravy looked scrumptious, I decided to carve at the table, thus set the whole loin on an oblong serving dish, surrounding it with sliced tomatoes and mixed lettuce leaves. (6) BONUS. The gravy makes itself! * DO* COOK DOWN THE MILK TILL IT’S THICK, CURDLED AND GOLDEN BROWN. THE SAVORY KERNELS WILL POP IN YOUR MOUTH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ken from CA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Any pork loin will work for this. Tying it just helps maintain its shape. And my recipe didn't call for it to be trimmed. Actually, you want some fat on it. Fat is flavor. If you cover this completely, it will overcook. The lid should be about 3/4 on so it can vent over a nice simmer. I think people are covering this or cooking over too high a heat, because this is one of the most foolproof ways to cook pork LOIN (not tenderloin).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Moist, tender, flavorful ...a whole new cooking method for me; We love pork, but I do not like "dry" pork roast. This recipe is very easy and basically foolproof. I followed the recipe exactly; also followed your suggestions given under the Reviews, below. (Yes, we used a pork loin roast, not tenderloin.) The "cooked down nutty brown savory kernels" made its own BEST-tasting gravy "as is" without having to add a single thing! -- Using chopped fresh rosemary was also essential; adds a subtle flavor! Thank you Ken from CA! I am happy to have your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
When i was preparing this recipe, i thought i must be doing something wrong because it looked weird and how could curdled milk possibly taste good. Well, don't be fooled, although it does not have the prettiest presentation, the flavor is amazing. Highly recommend and im sure any pork roast would work fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is to die for. You need to try it! I'm going to cut the salt in half next time though -- we could only eat tiny portions of the wonderful brown kernel sauce because the salt was just too much for us. We do tend to be low-sodium kinda people, though, I guess the low sodium diet has finally succeeded in changing our tastebuds! This smells so divine and looks like you slaved for hours, when really, you just prepped it and left it for a few hours! Thanks for the recipe, Ken, I'm sure we'll have this again! (To those who wound up with dry meat -- you need to use a deep pot, so that the meat is swimming in as deep a milk mixture as you can get. I also turned my roast (using tongs!) halfway through to keep the top from getting too dry.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is a recipe that I had saved almost from the day it was published and never got around to making until tonight. I had some pork medallions that were in my freezer needing to be used. I decided that if this recipe was intended for a roast, then it would also be fine with what I had, and right I was. Followed the recipe exactly only I did up the garlic to two cloves and used dried rosemary. I do think it's essential that a heavy bottomed dutch oven be used. It produces a nice even heat distribution for even cooking and no problem with recreating the sauce to look like it was intended. Great job Ken and thanks for thinking outside the "box" with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Delicious. A very tender, moist pork loin. Tying I did not do and had no problem with it. I asked Ken, in the exchange, if I had done the sauce right. He said it should have been cooked longer til it turned more brown. Albeit, it wasn't a nutty brown it was still very, very good. Thanks for the recipe Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I am glad I tried this recipe but found that it just wasn't for me. It was too salty and the meat turned out dry. I did like the 'milk curds' but again...too saltly. I prefer more seasonings. Interesting recipe though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I used 2% milk and this turned out great - don't over salt your pork or the sauce will be salty (I didn't measure the salt and it was a tad salty but not too much). Since I didn't allow my picky kids to eat this with ketchup they tried the sauce and all but the 3 year old liked it. Thanks Ken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Can't wait to try this pork receipe.We love pork and this receipe looks so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States