Mile High Green Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Pretty darn yummy. I was cooking for kids with no tolerance for heat, so I subbed a can of green chiles for the fresh peppers. Worked great. One question, though. The directions say to peel the tomatillos. When I did that, it basically left a blob of insides, and that didn't seem right. Is that a typo? Or maybe something AR added to the original recipe? Or maybe I peeled them wrong? Anyway, I peeled one and left the rest unpeeled, and there didn't seem to be any weird skins in the chili, so I guess it's OK to leave them unpeeled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILKBROWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alan O'Hashi
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I cooked it on the stove rather than the slow cooker. If you have issues with spicy food, you may want to experiment with the number of jalapeño peppers. The trick to this recipe is roasting the veggies. Next time I'm increasing the number of tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan O'Hashi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great recipe for a teen Halloween party. 12 fourteen year-old girls loved this chili best of the three kinds I made for their fun Halloween evening. I was even asked to share the recipe, high praise from this bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Yes!! You've got it in one....well done girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Great recipe! Never made this type of chili before but turned out well. Only thing I couldn't find was the Anaheim peppers...used canned green chilis instead. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This was excellent! My first recipe with a crockpot! My changes (since I'm pseduo vegetarian): -replaced meat with same amount of red skin potatoes, quartered (cooked with the rest of the veggies) -Used cheddar cheese for topping instead of cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Fabulous as is and substituted venison for pork and equally awesome. This is my new favorite recipe. Serve with warm tortillas. Left cream cheese out and served with sour cream on the side. Easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This is awesome chili! I never thought of using green tomatoes (tomatillos) in a chili! I had some leftover beans that I JUST HAD to use, thus the beans in my photo. I used my own leftover broth from green chili chicken in the crockpot the night before (instead of the bouillon cube)and I was out of red tomatoes. No Anaheims here this time of year, so sub'd a couple of previously roasted and peeled chile poblanos. Great blend of flavors and tastes even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe closely, but not exactly. I left out the cream cheese completely, but otherwise followed the directions. The flavor was good and went well with the homemade tortillas I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States