Mile High Green Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I had never heard of "Green Chili" until stumbling on this recipe looking for a way to use up some of a 7# pork shoulder I cooked in the crockpot. Well, my deepest thanks to the author! I make tons of soup since it's such a great and enjoyable way to eat your vegis. My hubs and I both think this recipe for the soup I made was the best soup I ever made. We were stunned at how good it was. I probably will annoy some people admitting that I modified the recipe and then am reviewing it, but it came out so awesome that I thought I should share. Here are my changes: I cooked, defatted, & shredded a large roast in the crockpot. I used about 1/3 of the meat from this in my soup. I strained the broth and defatted this and added it to this soup, I used pretty much all the vegis & peppers listed but used only 1 jalepeno and substituted a Pasilla (sp?) pepper for the other two since I was concerned it might be too hot for us. I added an extra green pepper and 2 more tomatillos. (They were small) I added a large can of green enchilada sauce and a can of water. (There was a lot of meat and I wanted to make it more soupy.) I had 2 leftover baked potatoes that I diced and added in the last 30 mins. I cooked this on high in the crockpot for 4-5 hours. I didn't add the cream cheese at the end. It was so delicious as is, we didn't want to change it. We did sprinkle a little shredded cheese on top. Loved, loved, loved it. Thank you so much for a huge hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I used this as a base for shredded pork for tamales (like the lady who would sell them in Castle Rock) I roasted the veggies and just threw the entire roast into the crock with less broth, shredded it, blended about half of the veggies/broth and added back in. Best darn tamales I have ever made. I know not the intent of the recipe, but it is a darn great chili with many possibilities. This is now my 'go to' mexican meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I roasted the peppers and cooked the meat the night before and added a whole bottle of beer instead of half and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Pretty darn yummy. I was cooking for kids with no tolerance for heat, so I subbed a can of green chiles for the fresh peppers. Worked great. One question, though. The directions say to peel the tomatillos. When I did that, it basically left a blob of insides, and that didn't seem right. Is that a typo? Or maybe something AR added to the original recipe? Or maybe I peeled them wrong? Anyway, I peeled one and left the rest unpeeled, and there didn't seem to be any weird skins in the chili, so I guess it's OK to leave them unpeeled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILKBROWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alan O'Hashi
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I cooked it on the stove rather than the slow cooker. If you have issues with spicy food, you may want to experiment with the number of jalapeño peppers. The trick to this recipe is roasting the veggies. Next time I'm increasing the number of tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan O'Hashi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great recipe for a teen Halloween party. 12 fourteen year-old girls loved this chili best of the three kinds I made for their fun Halloween evening. I was even asked to share the recipe, high praise from this bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Yes!! You've got it in one....well done girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Great recipe! Never made this type of chili before but turned out well. Only thing I couldn't find was the Anaheim peppers...used canned green chilis instead. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This was excellent! My first recipe with a crockpot! My changes (since I'm pseduo vegetarian): -replaced meat with same amount of red skin potatoes, quartered (cooked with the rest of the veggies) -Used cheddar cheese for topping instead of cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Fabulous as is and substituted venison for pork and equally awesome. This is my new favorite recipe. Serve with warm tortillas. Left cream cheese out and served with sour cream on the side. Easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States