Mildred's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This was my first ever effort at making a pound cake but turned out great and was delicious. It was actually a pretty easy recipe to make, but a stand mixer would have been a great thing to have handy. I also put a lemon glaze over it and it really made the flavor come out even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I used this recipe for cupcakes and they turned out great. The cake is moist, dense and buttery. I added the juice and zest of one lemon. I beat the butter and sugar in the mixer on high, added the eggs one at a time until light and fluffy and then folded in the sour cream and dry ingredients by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treatdream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Made this last night and everyone liked it. Didn't have vanilla, but still tasted great. Will make again, husband and son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Absolutely yummy pound cake. It was hard to get out of the pan I am going to try Pam with flour next time I make this pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
If you want a pound cake that is flavorful, moist gets rave reviews and guaranteed to come out every time, this is it! This recipe used to be posted with many many more reviews all saying the same thing. Some tips were to cut the vanilla in half and add 1/2 T of almond extract (a delicious idea). Others experimented with a little orange extract. Whatever flavoring you go with, the cake will be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Excellent...I have been making this recipe for years.....very flavorful and moist. The best pound cake recipe I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This pound cake is exactly what pound cake should be! Dense, moist and flavorful. I used light sour cream and it worked out beautifully! It rose way over the top of my bundt pan so next time I'll probably make it in two loaf pans. Oh, and I added 1/4 teaspoon of salt. IMO, baked goods are better with a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Easy peasy to make and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMAOF4NOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I love to bake. I made this cake yesterday. I loved it, I added a few extras, instead of 2 sticks of butter I used 2 1/2 sticks, I also cut a lemon and squezzed it to the batter. I also used self rising flour instead of all purpose which eliminated the use of the baking soda. The next time I will use two bunt pans because it made so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I tried this recipe for a BBQ get togheter on July 2nd and made a 3d cake using fondant and it was an absolute hit! Thanks. They only thing I add was skor chippits in it and it was scrumpcious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States