Mildred's Sour Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Whichever word you choose to call it, this is a common, classic, standard pound cake recipe which can be found just about anywhere and everywhere in a quick internet or cookbook search. And it's also very good and very dependable. It's been around a long, long time, because it works. The large amount of vanilla is what distinguishes this from other variations and while I did use the amount called for, I didn't notice a difference from when I use just half that amount. So, vanilla being expensive, there's no reason to use more than needed. I baked half a recipe into 12 cupcakes, about 22-23 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I had this recipe from my Aunt Mildred about 50 years ago! The entire family loves it - We have made this a "must have" for every family get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blaqberri091
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Omg my pound cake came out GREAT.... Thanks to this recipe. I did not altered the recipe like some of the other reviews...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blaqberri091
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Prettyy good. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinnamini

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was the best pound cake that I've ever made. I was out of vanilla extract so I used 1 tbsp of lemon extract and 1 tbsp of orange extract. I topped it off with a lemon glaze. Wonderful! The texture awesome! Plus, it was quick and easy. This will be my 'go to' cake from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CR Sample

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Isabella's mommy
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I am giving 4 stars because I altered the recipe a bit to make it moister and a tad sweeter (I made it once before and I found it to be dry). First, I halfed the recipe (10 servings). I added a bit more butter, heaping cups of sugar, lemon juice and no vanilla. Then I prepared a lemon sugar glaze and drizzled it on top. Yummy!! So delicious, moist and tasty. The key to this cake is also in the baking...edges burn fast and middle dries out. Drop temp. to 350 degrees, raise shelf in oven to middle and bake for only 40mins. Comes out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I have had this recipe in by box for the longest time and never gotten around to baking it ~ until today. Looking at the list of ingredients you know this is going to be one rich and decadent cake and it does not disappoint. I followed the recipe exactly, did not change a thing. The only negative for me is the bake time, which actually took me 2 hours and 10 minutes (I full hour more than a pound cake usually takes). I'm sure I will bake this again, but it will have to be when I have a little more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
My parents came to see me and my family today and they brought my 97 year old grandmother who used to be a awesome cook.... let me tell you this cake was HUGE hit the only thing I did different was put cream cheese frosting on top of the cake 30 mins after it cooled. Do not change anything from this recipe it is simple and easy to make and 5 stars recipe. I will def make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by decative diva
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I rate this cake @5 stars because it was easy, mix well and the cake had a great flavor to it. Also I add strawberry ( that I stewed down) into 1 1/2 cup of this mixture. making swirl patterns in it. Then add white chocolate and icing sugar together making it lose enough to pour over the whole cake. YUMMY!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by decative diva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made these in two bread pans, and froze one of the loaves. It turned out great, however it still wasn't as tasty as my dad's recipe, which uses whipping cream in the recipe. I'll try making his next time, but this was still delicious for my first time making pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States