Mild Coconut Tofu Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
THIS IS SO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This is a great, easy recipe! Cut open the lemongrass and add the innermost layer to the paste in the food processor. Then, just chop up the tough outer segments into 1-2 inch pieces and throw them in, you can pick them out before serving. Here are my changes, but the recipe as written is certainly not bland and it IS advertised as a mild curry, so it's understood that if you want a spicier dish, kick it up a notch! My additions: I added 1-2 cups of organic pumpkin, but it could be any winter squash. This is a great boost to the color & nutrition of the dish. I increased the cashews to 1/2 cup and added 1 more garlic clove. I used agave instead of sugar, and sauteed the potato & pumpkin first in the oil, curry powder & spice blend. Maybe 10 minutes to bring out the flavor and partially cook the veggies. Then I added everything else, but I cut the coconut milk down to 1/2 can (not my favorite)and increased the water. I also added 1/2 an organic apple, diced, at this point (I used Fuji but it could be any red apple) for a little sweet and balance. Don't leave out the water! This is the most important part! Your curry needs liquid in which to simmer! I even topped off the water a few times, making sure to keep the veggies covered until fully cooked. I also added the juice of a fresh squeezed lime at the end to round out the flavors. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Friedman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
After reading the reviews, made some adjustments. No water and used a total of 1 1/2 cans of coconut milk. To puree the various ingredients, added a splash of veg. broth which added a bit more flavor. Cut the lemongrass in 1 inch pieces and took them out right before serving. Those who wanted a bit more kick added chili paste. Served it with jasmine rice. Very creamy and vegan friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Based on other reviews about the flavor being too mild, I left out the potatoes and water. The flavor was very good and it was also ready a lot faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
First off don't put the lemon grass in your chopper unless you want to be picking tiny little pieces out of your mouth with every bite. Actual stalks of lemon grass are not meant to be eaten. I've heard there is a lemon-grass paste available in some grocery stores so maybe that would work. Otherwise, chop your grass into approx 10cm segments and add to the mix so it can be removed more easily. Also, cut the water out completely. Adding a cup of water totally drowns out any flavour at all. If you like a thinner curry, MAYBE add a bit more milk/coconut milk if you so desire. *update* I did find lemon grass chopped finely enough to actually eat in an Asian supermarket in Missasagua (one of the suburbs of Toronto, Canada). Unfortunately it's really hard to find, and even the biggest Asian markets don't seem to always carry it. You might find such a thing amongst the spices. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I would probably make this again, but without the tofu. I also found that there was too much water, so I boiled it longer and even added a little flour near the end to help it thick more. I used a curry paste from a jar - this added a great deal of flavor and was more authentic than just "plain" curry powder would have been. I did not use the lemongrass. Enjoyed the flavor very much. It was the texture of the tofu that I did not care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This is the first tofu dish that I have tried and it was quite tasty (enjoyed by husband, vegetarian sister and 5 year old). I didn't have any lemongrass that the recipe called for, added more curry for flavor, added additional potatoes and cauliflower. Next time, I will add more vegetables. Also let it simmer longer than recommended time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Good tofuc curry dish -- remember to add the salt and sugar at the end or it may come out bland. We liked it, but it didn't have a ton of character.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
After reading the reviews of others, I made some changes. To spice it up, I added a dash (or two) of cayenne, and reduced by half the amount of water. I also skipped the white sugar completely. Lastly, I thought it needed some colour and some crunch, so I threw in some raw snow peas in the simmering stage. This is a good dish, and I'll probably make it now and then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
outstanding! my boyfriend, who is a very picky vegetarian, also liked this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States