Mike's Peppered Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This is my go to jerky recipe. I've made it a dozen times or more, and it's great every time. The only change I made was to only use 2 pounds of beef, to get more of the flavor. I like a strong flavored jerky. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Made this with elk and let it marinate for 24 hours. Really tasty recipe. Husband and work friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This stuff tastes just like the kind I buy in the store,but BETTER! I doubled the pepper and it tastes awesome! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
The dehydrator and the oven made the beef extremely dry. Plus, I over used the black pepper. I have now seen Mikes addition about only using dehydrator for drying. Another than my mistakes for dehydrating and over use of black pepper, the recipe smelled awesome marinating. I won't make the same mistake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Amazing! I make this before long camping trips and it always hits the spot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
We made this for Christmas as gifts for our diabetic relatives...and the rest of us jerky lover's too. It was fabulous. The leaner the beef the shorter the dehydrator time and the safer the finished product. We used round steak, but found it still too fatty. We will use top round or some other type of leaner beef next time. However, the flavor was perfect..and no nitrites like store-bought jerky. Much cheaper too! We did not change anything in this recipe. Thanks Mike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Hey Mike - I have used this recipe several times AS IS and we love it! Some variations we have tried is adding more pepper and even a tablespoon of hot chili sauce for added kick. Thanks for sharing. I have some venison left from last fall that I want to cook to make room in the freezer and will be using it again shortly. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey Beth Watkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
When I submitted this recipe step 6 was not included. I use only my dehydrater for drying and not the oven, this is why the time may be shorter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Very good but a bit too sweet for my taste. Will make again but alter the sugar quantity and really lay on the pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States