Mike's Homemade Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I have been making homemade pizza for a long time. I mostly tried this recipe for the dough, but gave the sauce a try because of the rave reviews. The dough was really good... very easy to prepare and it had a nice crunch to it out of the oven. (I found this was just enough for one pizza dough) I strongly recommend baking on a pizza stone. I was not that enamored with the sauce, at least not as much as everyone else. For one, it was way too much for one pizza and the flavor was more similar to chili than pizza sauce. But it's all a matter of taste! Homemade pizza is so fun and easy. Thanks for the great dough recipe, Mike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I was very impressed! I decided to try this and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
nice sauce, not to spicy so everyone can enjoy, Crust a little bland but everyone still enjoyed it. I didn't get 2(12 inch) crusts out of it, but One big one for my 14 inch pizza stone cookware. I will definetly use this recipe again. Thank you mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Macleod, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Blackfalds, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This sauce is sooooooo good. It beats eating store bought sauce any day. Super easy to make even with a 3 month old baby in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I made this recipe for my daughter's birthday party and it was a total hit. I had never made homemade pizza before and not only was this easy, it was so tasty. To make the recipe even more nutritional I substituted whole wheat flour for 1/3 of the flour used and everything turned out just right. I also used the dough hook on my standing mixer to mix the dough together which made the dough rise a lot better. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
this is a really really good sauce! dont be thrown off by the cumin and the chili powder- it definitely adds a smoky and subtle flavoring to this sauce. delish! instead of water, i sub'ed tomato juice, i used brown sugar instead of white (to give a more caramel-y flavor/texture. and since i didnt have any marjoram on hand, i just double the oregano. and because i was a little skeptical of the cumin/chili, i halved both of those spices. i had to stop myself from eating the whole pot! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Oh yum! The sauce was amazing! Quick and easy. Nice for those pizza cravings, but gives you control of the content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
We just used the sauce, but it was excellent! Will definitely use again. Didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
There's only one word to describe this pizza recipe, "YUM!" The sauce is awesome! My husband and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
AMAZING! My first time making homemade pizza, and it was a huge hit with my family. Instead of using tomato paste, fresh tomatoes would probably make the sauce tastier. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States