Mike's Homemade Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Made this last week using a shortcut of store bought frozen bread dough. My family said this was "the best pizza they've ever had" and we're from Buffalo where Pizza & Wings is a staple. I will definately make this again. Thanks for earning me some compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Derby, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Very easy to make and everyone commented on how perfect the crust was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by etakily
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
At first we were worried that the dough wouldn't turn out right, but it was perfect and the sauce--magic! I suggest topping it with parmesan and mozzerela. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etakily

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
The sauce was delicious! The crust kind of needs a little reworking. I loved the bottom of my pizza being crunchy and good but the crust of the pizza was also the same texture. Other than that, the pizza was pretty tasty. Thanks a lot Mike :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: La Jolla, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
The sauce in this recipe is excellent, but I would not recommend the dough. I used the calzone dough recipe from the "Real Italian Calzones" on this site instead and everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I made the sauce and it was EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
My family loves this recipe! Like other members suggested, I made one big pizza instead of two smaller ones. I also omitted the cumin and majoram because I didn't have them. The pizza was really good and I will definately make it again. Next time I think I'll add less salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I borrowed another recipe for the crust (I prefer whole wheat) but made the sauce as directed. It was GREAT! A prefect mix of spicy and savory… overall super tasty sauce. This is a definite keeper. Thanks, Mike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu loves to cook!
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Wasn't to fond of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
UPDATE: I've made this sauce several times, very good. The sauce is really tomatoey and reminds me of an italian spaghetti/pasta sauce, in fact it would be a great dipping sauce with bread sticks. Crust I fiddled around with, it's easier to use another favorite one rather than try to keep tweaking this one. The sauce is worth keeping, dough is okay, it does have great crispy crackery texture and all. ORIGINAL REVIEW: This was fantastic. I got two 14 inch thin crust pizzas from this. The crust was very thin, light, and delicate, nicely crispy too. Like a cracker when I baked this on a perforated sheet on lowest oven rack. Dough was really stiff and seemed dry but I followed directions and it turned out great. Not a lot of flavor, but then does crust need a lot when it is a base? The sauce was really decent too. I made two pizzas and still froze some for another. This had some different ingredients than I am used to using for pizza sauce like the comino and chili powder. I didn't change a thing and really don't need too. Even though the crust could use some flavor, the texture is outstanding so it makes up for it. We all liked this and I will make it again. Thanks Mike, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States