Mike's Homemade Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I don't know why everybody found the crust to be undesirable. I followed the directions with the only substitute being olive oil for vegetable oil. It wasn't a "traditional" crust (which tend to be chewy and harder depending on how its made anyway) but it was soft with just enough crustiness. My husband and I both enjoyed the crust! Although next time on the sauce I think I'm going to halve the chili powder and cumin to cut back on the smokey flavor. Otherwise it was an AWESOME sauce. This is definitely the best homemade pizza I have ever made. Great job Mike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
The crust was the right texture, but bla. The sauce was very good, but David did not like the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I only made the sauce, but it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Best homemade pizza we've ever made! We made a rectangular pizza with all of the dough. My only preference would have been to double the sauce as I like my pizza a bit saucier. It was very tasty, and a nice balance of tastes in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Made this exactly as directed. The crust was perfect and the sauce was great. I didn't find it too spicy at all and I am not a spicy food person. It was our first attempt at pizza from scratch and we will definitely make this again. It was a hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pierre, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hothilary36
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I made the sauce from this recipe, was awesome, will never use a jar again, used bread recipe for the crust from this site. Also I made calzones instead of pizzas still tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I liked this pizza. I had used a little to much chilli powder and it was to strong. other then that is was a fantastic dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doedoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
The recipe for the sauce is beyond incredible! Based on other reviews, I omitted the red pepper flakes and black pepper to adjust the spice. I used another pizza crust recipe and made a delicious homemade pizza with ingredients I already had in the fridge and pantry. Thanks Mike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Sauce was different but real good!! I added an extra half teaspoon of sugar at the end because I found a tad spicy. My boyfriend liked it too and said it'd be even better sweeter. Thank you MIke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
For beginners, this recipe is great! My girlfriend and I have made it a couple of times and decided to try it out on some friends; it was a success! The sauce can taste a little pasty if you don't add enough spices. I like to add fresh diced garlic to the sauce while it's cooking and I also added some spices to the dough while i kneaded it. In sum, a great pizza that's easy enough to make if you've got the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States