Mike's Favorite Grilled Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
No good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
THIS IS A CATASTROPHE. This should definitely be renamed Crew's Favorite Grilled Cheese. I could not eat this because of the taint of the name. We changed it for a reason! OH MON DIEU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This site is named ALLrecipes dot com not Totally new and never seen before recipes dot com. Therefore I believe this classic recipe deserves a place here. Watch a few cooking shows and you will notice that many amateur cooks will put a big blob of butter in a pan to cook grilled cheese but never butter the bread. Apparently not everyone knows how to cook a proper grilled cheese and I am glad Mike posted this for people to find. Been making it like this since childhood and even substitute cheeses every now and then. But classic recipes deserve a place here along with more advanced recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thumpertoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
A true classic...just how I learned to make them~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Using two kinds of cheeses works as well! I like using Colby-Jack and Cheddar. I bake in oven, spraying both sides of sandwich with cooking spray and it's yummy, not soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I just love that Mike posted this recipe. Made me smile. A man who can make a killer grilled cheese is a fine cook in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quackenbushs cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I never tried it with butter because of the fat, so i put a little on and it didnt burn as easy~! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piggyluver~!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Okay, Mike - I was looking for a baked cheese sandwich and came across this. Then, I was curious to find out why in the title this was a favorite? THIS IS EXACTLY HOW I MAKE MY GRILLED CHEESE! I did not know there was a recipe for a basic grilled cheese? Then, again I think I have seen recipes on here for baked potatoes and fried eggs. I haven't come across toast yet, but haven't looked! Either way, I use somewhat less butter and sometimes 1 1/2 pieces of cheese. Cook the grilled cheese on no higher than 5 and only flip once. No flattening the grilled cheese with a spatula either! Follow this and you will get a buttery crispy delicious grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I've pretty much made this before I knew it was a recipe on this site. This time, I followed the recipe exactly, using unsalted butter and Honey Wheat bread. I found the results to be OK, nothing special. First, I thought there was too much butter - 1 T. might've been enough. Second, the "medium-high" heat seemed to be too much - the edges of the bread quickly turned black, before the cheese was fully melted. This is a simple sandwich, I know, but that was my particular experience. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
great grilled cheese...I have been doing this for years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vampixen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States