Mike's Drunken Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by emrald5769
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Do not attempt to substitute canned oysters for Mussels when you cannot find them. NOT a good substitution! I posted a pic of the end result which looked more like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emrald5769

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANDRONICKY
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I used vodka instead of tequila and added 3 teaspoons of horseradish too....just for an extra kick. They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
OK! My husband enjoyed them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I used olive oil, left out the peppers (both red and jalapeno) but only because I didn't have any on hand. I also left out the water because I used the frozen mussels you can buy in the 2 pound bag. Really good recipe, loved the flavor of the broth - I was afraid that the tequila would be too strong, but it was balanced by the lime juice - I may add more tequila next time! Thanks, Mike for an alternative to white wine broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrocklage72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Fantastic!! Very good recipe. The tequila and lime add a great touch to this very easy recipe. We left out the Cilantro only because I do not like that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Quick and easy to make with stuff we had on hand, including jalapeños. This recipe is better than most restaurants. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Great change to wine and cream - we loved it and will use again I fried the chilli with the onion and pepper to reduce the heat and confess that I seldom weigh my ingredients just use the volume and weight given as a guide line, the sauce was good and the balance of flavors were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guzziowner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
I did not like this recipe at all. I'm giving it 2 stars only because my husband thought they were "ok". The sauce needs to be thicker, I think, so that the sauce will stick to the mussels. The flavor was not good, the cilantro overwhelming. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
I wasn't sure about this...the family always eats the mussels the same way but they liked it! A lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States