Mike's Drunken Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
I wasn't sure about this...the family always eats the mussels the same way but they liked it! A lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Fantastic!! Very good recipe. The tequila and lime add a great touch to this very easy recipe. We left out the Cilantro only because I do not like that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Great change to wine and cream - we loved it and will use again I fried the chilli with the onion and pepper to reduce the heat and confess that I seldom weigh my ingredients just use the volume and weight given as a guide line, the sauce was good and the balance of flavors were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Maksymiw
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I used vodka instead of tequila and added 3 teaspoons of horseradish too....just for an extra kick. They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Quick and easy to make with stuff we had on hand, including jalapeños. This recipe is better than most restaurants. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This was Great! I didn't want to lose the taste of all the ingredients in the streaming so I steamed the mussels in water, a bit of lime juice and a splash of tequila then used the recipe to pour over mussels when they were done and in the bowl. Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emrald5769
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Do not attempt to substitute canned oysters for Mussels when you cannot find them. NOT a good substitution! I posted a pic of the end result which looked more like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emrald5769

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I used olive oil, left out the peppers (both red and jalapeno) but only because I didn't have any on hand. I also left out the water because I used the frozen mussels you can buy in the 2 pound bag. Really good recipe, loved the flavor of the broth - I was afraid that the tequila would be too strong, but it was balanced by the lime juice - I may add more tequila next time! Thanks, Mike for an alternative to white wine broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrocklage72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
OK! My husband enjoyed them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States