Mike's Drunken Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This was Great! I didn't want to lose the taste of all the ingredients in the streaming so I steamed the mussels in water, a bit of lime juice and a splash of tequila then used the recipe to pour over mussels when they were done and in the bowl. Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
I did not like this recipe at all. I'm giving it 2 stars only because my husband thought they were "ok". The sauce needs to be thicker, I think, so that the sauce will stick to the mussels. The flavor was not good, the cilantro overwhelming. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Quick and easy to make with stuff we had on hand, including jalapeños. This recipe is better than most restaurants. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
I wasn't sure about this...the family always eats the mussels the same way but they liked it! A lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Maksymiw
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I used vodka instead of tequila and added 3 teaspoons of horseradish too....just for an extra kick. They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I used olive oil, left out the peppers (both red and jalapeno) but only because I didn't have any on hand. I also left out the water because I used the frozen mussels you can buy in the 2 pound bag. Really good recipe, loved the flavor of the broth - I was afraid that the tequila would be too strong, but it was balanced by the lime juice - I may add more tequila next time! Thanks, Mike for an alternative to white wine broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrocklage72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Great change to wine and cream - we loved it and will use again I fried the chilli with the onion and pepper to reduce the heat and confess that I seldom weigh my ingredients just use the volume and weight given as a guide line, the sauce was good and the balance of flavors were great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
OK! My husband enjoyed them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Fantastic!! Very good recipe. The tequila and lime add a great touch to this very easy recipe. We left out the Cilantro only because I do not like that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States