Mikael's Wassal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I only made half the recipe and used an entire cup of red hots (instead of the 3/4 cup called for) to give it a more spicy flavor. I also added a few cloves and garnished with lemon and orange slices. It turned out beautifully with just enough cranberries to make your mouth "zing" with each sip! Also, because red hots are used instead of cinnamon, there is no sludgy spice residue left in the bottom of the cup...but be careful if you drip...it stains!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Really great flavor, the whole family loved it! I didn't change anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
REALLY GOOD. I used 1/2 gal. of LITE cranberry juice to 3 qt. apple juice and only 28 oz. pineapple juice, plus a 9.5 oz. bag of red hots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I just made this for Christmas and it was wonderful! It makes an absolute ton, but I am going to freeze the rest for a future cold, winter day. I brought everything to a boil in a pot and then transferred it to a crock-pot on low for the rest of the day. Everyone served themselves all day long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Really good! Nice holiday alternative to the usual nog, etc. Please note however, the cinamon candies they are talking about in this recipe are not the chewy kind but the cinamon hearts that you get near valentines (I figured this out when I tried to disolve them and after 1 hour they had still not disolved). Instead I substitued cinamon sticks as I couldn't for the life of me find those candies at this time of year (Christmas), so I think it lacked the real cinamon kicker but still very good. Next Valentines I will stock up on those candies so I have some for next year as I imagine it would be superb done by the recipe. I made it for a big family get together, smelled the house up real nice and everyone really liked it. I was even asked to make it for Christmas supper instead of the usual tea after supper. It really does make a ton! Next time I will make half the recipe and if it's getting close to gone and not almost bedtime I will make the second batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This is our standard Thanksgiving drink. We love it! We make it in the crockpot. You do have to stir quite a bit until the red hots dissolve or you'll have a clump in the bottom of your slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
just ok for me.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was OK. It did not have the taste I thought it would have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

How to Make French Press Coffee

Four minutes is all it takes for the most flavorful cup of coffee you can make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States