Mijo's Slow Cooker Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe! I made exactly as it suggested minus the mustard power ( I made the screw up and bought mustard seed due to the shopping list just saying mustard lol) The taste was awesome. Not sure how people can say this has no flavor. You need to go to the Dr and be checked out as your taste buds must not be working. Even my wife liked this and doesn't care for spicey recipes. I actually used this as a sandwich filler. I split open a 8 - 10 inch roll. I put melted butter all over the bread and baked in the oven on 400 degrees for 12 minutes. I then put the beef on the bread and put on some colby jack cheese. I used the juice from the meet as a french dip juice and boy was I impressed. I will definitely be going back and forth between this and italian roast, which I also use as a sandwich filler. Yum is all I can say! Great job on posting this whoever the owner of this recipe is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Smelled delicious but the flavor just wasn't there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Willard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Hugely disappointed! I followed the recipe almost. Okay, so I subbed celery seed and a pinch of salt for the celery salt, poblanos for the jalapenos, and molasses and water (I was desperate) for the beer/soda. Glad this was a make-ahead meal, as I would have been scrambling if it was tonight's dinner. Boring, flat flavor; spicy without being flavorfully spicy; and leaves a smokey aftertaste! Hopefully I can turn it into a soup or something to dilute the flavors. Definitely will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Absolutely fabulous!!! Did not need to tweak it a bit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willywoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
very tasty.. cut the recipe in half as we had a rump roast closer to 2 lbs.. after 8 hours it was more than ready.. and b/c of the very little liquid we made sure to keep an eye on it as we didn't want to dry/burn it.. bf had this in tacos.. i had this straight up.. wasn't "too" spicy.. but that would depend on the individual's preference.. ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Only so so. I can make tastier shredded beef with way fewer ingredients and way less work. Good, but not worth all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONIA76

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy F.
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Excellent as written !!! I have made this twice and the first time made it exactly as written but felt it needed just a little more spice. So the second time I added the following to the recipe: Used 1.5 cups of cola instead of beer (really like the flavor of the cola better), 1 cup of beef bouillon (used the cube and disolved it in hot water), a couple shakes of cumin, ancho chili powder and crushed red pepper flakes, 15 oz can diced tomatos, 3/4 can diced green chilis (dont like chopping my own jalapinos) and 2 cinnamon sticks (cinnamon gives it a more traditional mexican flavor). Rubbed the dry ingrediants on top of a 3.5 pound chuck roast put the roast in the crock pot then dumped all the wet ingrediants in the crock pot. The liquid did just cover the roast which helps prevent the meat from drying out, left the slow cooker on low for about 11 hours, took the meat out and shredded it with 2 forks. I then spooned some of the liquid from the crock pot over the meat. I decided to make quesadillas with cheese served them with sour cream on top and it was out of this world good. This recipe is a keeper and probably the best one on this site for shredded beef (Ive tried a few). Thanks for sharing and enjoy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I didn't have green peppers or jalapenos to add. But I did add a can of diced tomatoes. Still spicy and flavorful. Family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I thought the recipe was good but did not think tasted like Mexican beef. As I have a syndrome for which I have to watch spices, I supplementeed more paprika and cumin in order to use 3/4 of red pepper and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
DELICIOUS! My crockpot's low setting is on the high side, so mine cooked in about 8.5 hours, but still tender as can be. Awesome recipe! Will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States