Mijo's Slow Cooker Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2001
Most excellent. It made fabulous burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
I made this for a staff lunch today and everyone loved it!! It also had an added bonus - the smell of it cleared everyone's sinuses. It did have a kick to it, but the only ones who complained where the ones who had it plain. It needs to be served on bread of some kind. It takes a little bit of work to make, but it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNIE2SHU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
This was an EASY, delicious recipe! I have searched for a shredded beef recipe for years, and now I've found it. I used a smaller roast... about 3 lbs, and cooked overnight. I used mine to make enchiladas. The spicing was just right. Muy Bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
My husband went nuts over this recipe. He says it's one of the best recipes he's ever tasted. He begged me to make it again as soon an possible, and often. I have to admit he's got a point; th emeat was very tender and flavorful and made some oustanding taco filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I used maybe a pound and a half of chuck roast, cut up, and dumped everything into the pressure cooker, everything except the beer, didn't have so subbed 1 cup homemade beef stock, and used red bell pepper instead. Cut some spices in half but kept garlic and jalapenos the same. I let it marinate for a while cuz we wern't ready to eat, then cooked. Made burritos. Dinner went like this, take a bite say "This is SO GOOD." Repeat after every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
TO DIE FOR!!!!!! Made it for a tailgate party the other night and got rave reviews. Very spicy but very tasty. Thank you Thank you Thank you Update: If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. I made it again last night for friends and my husband came home and was not a happy man when he found out there was none left. It is very spicy but if you can't handle spice cut it down. As my kids would say OMG!!! Its that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by einygav15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Novato, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Great recipe....the meat really just falls apart - no shredding needed!! If you're pressed for time like I was, just start the slow-cooker off on high for a couple of hours, then turn down to low....it'll be ready in six hours. If you truly like things spicy, you'll need to add more peppers or hot sauce....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Plugged in for 2 pounds of chuck - 3 servings, and it was awesome. I put it in at 9pm and turned it off at 8am. I put it straight in the refrigerator, and then pulled it out later in the evening for dinner. I reheated the entire contents of the crock pot on the stove top and it fell apart as it reheated... AMAZING I didn't have tarragon or chili powder. I added about 1/2 teaspoon of oregano, cumin, and crushed red pepper, and about 1 teaspoon of kosher salt. I doubled the amount of beer - I used Dos Equis. I backed off on the hot sauce - Louisiana Hot Sauce We ended up using this beef for tacos, but it looks like it would be amazing for just about any shredded beef application - sandwiches, enchiladas, or burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
A++! I followed the recipe exactly, using diet coke instead of beer (didn't have any) and it is awesome! Lots of flavor - spicy, but not overbearing, and the meat just falls apart. I served it with flour tortillas and pico de gallo (chopped tomatoes, onion and cilantro) and guacamole. I'll make this often for all kinds of occasions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
This recipe entailed a number of firsts for this newish cook. I'd never cooked a chuck roast before, and never used a dry rub on meat either; it was also only my third slow-cooker recipe ever, I think. This produced some very tasty meat that I had in burritos for days. I do wonder, though, whether all the spices were needed. The cooking left a lot of very spicy broth in the slow-cooker that tasted good over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States