Mijo's Slow Cooker Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was SOOO Awesome Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Perfect for tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Delicious! I was a little worried that all the flavors might compete and overpower each other, but they all mellowed out to a fantastic, married flavor. Served it in flour tortillas with all the fixings. Very good. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
We liked this, but did not love it. I almost think there are too many flavors going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Very good! Great for freezing and taking for lunches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This has become a weekly standard in my house! Oldest to youngest - we all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Excellent! I made it for company and we ate it all week in various forms. I still had some to freeze. One of my guest made it though and she was not as crazy about it, she said it didn't have as much flavor even though we both followed the recipe exactly. I wonder if mine had more flavor because I assembled it the night before, and then cooked it for 9 hours the next day. I'm going to make it that way again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I didn't particularly care for this. It smelled delicious as it cooked though.... I thought this had a slightly bitter taste even though I used Coke in lieu of beer (I didn't want to open a new bottle of beer just for this recipe - since I made this at 9 AM, I wasn't in the mood to drink the rest!). On the contrary, my bf thought this had a sweet taste, similar to BBQ brisket (go figure!). My bf always tells me that I set my expectations too high. When a recipe doesn't meet or exceed those expectations, I am disappointed. I was hoping that this would be very similar to Chipotle's barbacoa (i.e. spicy shredded beef), but it wasn't (well maybe...). If I would have ACTUALLY done my homework beforehand, I would have KNOWN that Chipotle's meat is braised with chipotle adobo, cumin, cloves & oregano - none of which are spices found in this recipe (duh!). My bf and I made tacos out of the meat (i.e. flour tortillas, fresh garden salsa and cheese) and served them with homemade guacamole (complements of the bf) & beer margaritas to wash 'em down. This was a filling meal, but I don't think I'll be saving the left-overs for the enchiladas I hoped to prepare later this week. which is a real bummer since I would have liked to see how well this meat freezes. Oh well! Thanks anyways :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Nikkivazquez
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was a huge disspaointment to me. I followed the recipe exactly but I just did not like the way this tasted at all. In my opinion the Worsteshire and beer just did not mesh together well and with the hot sauce mixed in it just had the worst smell as it was cooking. My husband even commented on the smell. I definately will not try to attempt this one again but will stick to the traditional way of making Mexican style shredded beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkivazquez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I made this tonight and it got rave reviews! I put the roast in the crockpot last night since it was frozen and put the garlic on top. I cooked it all night and most of the day and it was SO good! I have never had such wonderful tasting beef in a restaurant! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States