Mijo's Slow Cooker Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is delicious. I use it when making my enchiladas. It's a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vagabum Mike
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I give this 3.5 stars but admit I did not make it as described. First I bought a Top Round roast which did not turn out as moist in the middle as it could have been (I did not cut in half because it was in a net). For the rub I did not have any celery salt or tarragon so had to do without but I did leave the rub on to set overnight in hopes of getting a stronger flavor. Also I did not have a slow cooker so had to use the stove and decided to make enough liquid to keep the meat covered. I used 16 oz. of Mexican Beer and added 1 cup of beef broth, 1 cup of salsa and 1 can of green chillies with juice. I simmered the meat on low with a tight lid for 11 hours. The smell of the liquid smoke seemed more like Tex BBQ though so I might leave that off next time I wish to make a Mexican dish like Machaca Con Huevo (shredded beef with egg). For the Machaca, after shredding the beef I stir fried one chopped onion, a bell pepper and another can of green chillies with 1/2 cup of the reduced liquid from the pot. Then I soaked 21 oz. of the shredded beef in 4 raw scrambled eggs, then dumped it all in the pan with the veggies, a cup of chopped cilantro and scrambled them with 8 more eggs (for a total of 12). I served it with tortillas, avocado, cilantro and salsa-see photos. It turned out pretty good, but I think I can do better with the beef. Next time I may try the "Slow Cooker Carnitas" recipe (which is great) but sub in the chuck roast and beef broth instead and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vagabum Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Awesome!!! I made this for company. Everyone loved it. I will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobbygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
delish! made great nachos! i left out the worcestershire (didn't have any) used water instead of beer, and added cumin. we'll be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftytammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Mmmm, we really enjoyed this. It's a unique recipe because it's spicy and flavorful but without the usual flavor of Mexican beef. I was out of liquid smoke and had to make without and it was still delicious. I also didn't have any fresh produce so left out all the veggies, if I were to add them in the future I'd probably chop and add with 1-2 hours left on the cooking time, just to preserve their texture. The large ingredient list makes for a very complex and satisfying flavor, will make again with few if any changes, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I thought this was a good recipe. Although instead of hot pepper sauce, and Jalapenos, I used one can of chiles in adodo sauce. It came out plenty spicy. I do have to agree that the dry spices were too many and complicated. I have found simply rub Mrs. Dash Southwest Chipotle Blend, along with garlic powder, salt and black pepper does the trick. Then keep the liquid ingredients the same or just dump in a jar of favorite salsa. Still add in your onion, bell pepper, and throw in some frersh garlic ! Easier and delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was sooo flavorful!! We used all of the ingredients as listed. It is very spicy, but full of flavor! I did add 1 and 1/2 cans of beer when I saw it was going to dry out, worked out perfect!! I also had to make a few burritos after 8 hrs of cooking, the meat shredded and was very good! I will be using this recipe again...Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is our favorite way to have tacos. The flavors are fantastic. I use less (a lot less) of the hot pepper sauce since we have young children, but do everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Root Crandell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Really good. I liked all the spices that were used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was delicious, just made it tonight. I followed the recipe except for leaving out the liquid smoke flavoring and taking the seeds off the jalapenos. Next time I would definitely add the liquid smoke flavoring and probably another onion. I loved how the onions turned out. The meat was super tender and easy to shred and that was after only 7 hours in the crockpot (although I did use grass fed beef which cooks a little faster). I recommend this easy dish to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebeca Cantu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States