Miguelina's Poblanos and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
This is a great recipe! Very authentic, I lived in Mexico for 8 years and this is right on the money! Here's another tip for those of you who do not like battered things. Follow the same instruction here (toasting and removing the skin( but instead of coating the chiles, cut them into strips and fry them with strips of onion. Once they are cooked, add the cheese and some cream. This makes a nice gooey mess that you can eat in tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phenix City, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Both ways of preparing are delicious. When peppers are on sale I buy a large quantity. I wash them, dry slightly, and oil them on the outside. Place them in a cookie sheet and broil them on high. Do not walk away, open door, check and turn as needed to brown all sides. When skins are almost black remove from oven, place in plastic bag to loosen the skin, then peel the peppers. Now you can freeze them, single layer on a cookie sheet, after that place in freezer bag. Then when you feel like having one they are ready. They will keep for months in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Just a little tip on charring peppers: Heat up the old deep fryer and deep fry peppers a few at a time, drain on paper towels, let cool and skin. Oh so easy! and so much faster than the other ways. The oil does NOT soak into the peppers. Learned this from a pro cook in South Texas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I blackened my peppers under the broiler instead of in a frying pan. I tried removing the stems and seeds after blackening and steaming, but the pepper tore up pretty easily, so I would do it beforehand next time. I dipped each peeled pepper in an egg wash, rolled them in Panko bread crumbs, and baked at 350 for 10 minutes rather than frying. Delicious! It didn't taste too different from restaurant chile rellenos but was much healthier without all the oil. That said, this was quite time consuming, but they were fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
Made Pork Carnitas last night and fixed this for the side everyone loved them. It was a little spicy for some but it was GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
MUY SABROSO! That means it's great! I tried the variations listed and a few of my own. Such a tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Great recipe. The hardest part is blackening the peppers and getting off the skin. After that, it was easy and delicious. I always order these when we go to Mexican restaurants, but now I can make them at home. And, I like the thin crust this makes. Thanks for the delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
these peppers were wonderful, it was my 1st time making anything like this & I found it wasn't that difficult and everyone loved them (I even added some seasoned browned beef to a few of the peppers when stuffing with the cheese).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phenix City, Alabama, USA
Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States