Migas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by blueJean
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I always fry the corn tortilla pieces crispier, sprinkled with dry spices like chile(cayenne or chipotle), garlic, and cumin. Push the pieces to one side of the pan and then add the beaten eggs to the open side, cook til almost done and then mix together with torks. Love adding any leftover meats including chicken, taco meat, or chorizo. Diced fresh onion, cilantro, tomato, jalapeno tossed on finished dish adds more flavor and crunch. Also try fresh veggies like corn off the cob or zucchini to 'stir-fry' right in wonderfully. Have some just waiting for my skillet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Everyone loved it, even my ultra picky 2 1/2 yr old. I think I had 7 tortillas and 8 eggs though. Added mexican season salt to eggs while cooking and added shredded sharp cheddar after making the plates. At the table I added hot sauce to mine and my husbands. I think the recipe is just a starter, you can add whatever you want! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This is a nice basic recipe, but you have to decrease the amount of tortillas and add more seasonings and veggies to make it a super tasty dish. My husband and 1 year old ate it up! (After adding some cumin, garlic, onion, and salsa. I only used 6 tortillas and that was plenty.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sriyani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Excellent recipe! I used 4 tortillas and 2 eggs since I was just cooking for myself. I like the ratio because it doesn't taste super-eggy. I fried in coconut oil and added a little cumin and black pepper when I put the eggs in. I can definitely see myself making these a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I'd never heard of migas until two weeks ago and had never eaten them until last night, so I have no idea how they are supposed to taste. I also didn't have any corn tortillas, so this variation is far from authentic. I sauteed 1/4 cup of chopped onions in the oil until soft and then tossed in some broken tortilla chips and sauteed them, too. Then I added the beaten eggs (with garlic salt and pepper) and soft-scrambled them until almost done. I tossed in half a can of rotel tomatoes (drained) and some shredded cheese when the eggs were nearly done. It was hearty, satisfying and delicious without being too spicy for me (although my husband would have added the rest of the rotel tomatoes). This recipe is like an omelet -- you can add whatever ingredients and seasonings you want -- but the addition of the tortillas (or tortilla chips) makes it a heartier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Pretty good! After reading the comments here I added some sauteed onions and green peppers to the eggs/tortillas. I used 8 tortillas and 10 eggs (big eaters!) and half the Taco Seasoning I recipe found at this site. Added some fresh cilantro and topped with cheese (salsa and sour cream on the side). I think next time I will use the entire Taco Seasoning I in this dish but otherwise, this was very tasty and there are even some leftovers! I served this with black beans (seasoned with the other half of the taco seasoning recipe and extra garlic) and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I add fresh jalapenos, tomatoes and onion. I'm not a tomato fan, so I leave them out. You should saute' one jalapeno and 1/4 cup onions before adding in the eggs. (I remove seeds and inner membrane of the jalapeno for less heat.) I add a pat of butter once everything is combined. Great on a warm flour tortilla with fresh avocado or serve burrito style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDDIEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I really love this but add salt and pepper. I think the ratio of tortillas to eggs is off so I reduced the number. 1 egg : 1 tortilla. It works for us and then it's not like I'm eating a bunch of tortillas. We topped ours with a little cheese, salsa on the side and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Steele Blaney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Tastes good it reminds me of fried matze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktylizbth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Yum!! I used the comments by KitchenDiva for ratio of ingredients and method. I made it with two eggs just for myself. Can't wait to make it again on the weekend for the husband. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

How to Scramble Eggs

See how to whip up fluffy scrambled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States