Mie Goreng - Indonesian Fried Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was fantastic! I substituted beef for chicken. Because stewing beef was all I had on hand, I cooked it in the pressure cooker (about 10 minutes, then let sit until pressure released) with a bit of water, a teaspoon of vinegar (to soften) a few teaspoons of soya sauce, lots of black pepper, and a whole head of crushed garlic. Then, did the remaining recipe as listed, just substituting broad rice noodles for the ramen due to allergies (and cooking the noodles in the remaining "beef water"). Even my picky kids, after commenting that it was colourful (a bad thing, in their eyes) due to the broccoli, carrots, and purple cabbage (what I had on hand!), both had second servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephen only
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I was in Bali for 6 weeks on a surf trip. Ate this every morning for breakfast. I have tried this a few times but never came out like I wanted. This recipe is the closest I have found. It's really good. I think I over cooked the noodles a little. I used spinach instead of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Great easy recipe! I used fresh chow mein egg noodles instead of ramen noodles and it tasted pretty darn close to the mee goreng instant noodle packages, but better and without the extra sodium. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I thought this was really good. I will definitely Make this again. I did not use oyster sauce as I don't like the taste. I did not find the sweet soy sauce. After reading some reviews and reading that it was to salty I went with lite soy sauce and only used 1/3 a cup of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Fenton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was a very good base. I used brown rice noodles instead of ramen, and hoisin instead of oyster sauce. I could not find sweet soy sauce anywhere, so I just heated a bit of brown sugar with the soy sauce. We enjoyed this. I might consider omitting the cabbage next time, but that's just personal preference. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
My family couldn't stop raving about this meal. My husband asked for a glass of wine to refresh his palate after every delicious bite. I scaled the recipe to serve 3, but used 2 packages of noodles. I made my own Indonesian sweet soy sauce using 2 TBS soy to 3 TBS brown sugar, boiling it to a smooth syrup, then adding the oyster & soy sauce. I will have to make it again...and again! PS: a small 8oz of chicken breast is all that's needed to serve 3 people - sliced very thin, of course. With all the other vegetables & noodles, it was enough. This recipe is a winning budget recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne England

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Perris, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This was quick and tasty. I served it over spaghetti since I didn't have ramen noodles. My husband found it a bit dry (I cut down on the soy sauce since it would have been way too salty), and I would have liked some additional spices, but it's overall a healthy, delicious supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Had all the ingredients since I usually make fried rice a lot. Was even more inspired to make this since I had leftover chicken and pre-cut fresh veggies from the green grocers and that would save me time. The whole thing took 10 minutes to prepare and cook. Turned out great and my son asked for seconds. Will definitely be part of my instant-dinner recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was absolutely delicious. I cut the recipe in 1/2 and it really was plenty for 3 servings. I added quite a bit more cole slaw mix (cabbage) but otherwise followed the recipe to a tea, using only 1/2 tablespoon of oil for the whole meal. I didn't have sweet soy sauce so I used citrus infused soy sauce and it made it really good. I will definitely be making this again when I get a "hankerin'" for chinese food. Thank you Felicia for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is a quick, plentiful meal. I used 10 oz Chinese thin egg noodles and slightly more vegetables. The chicken was slightly bland, next time I might try marinating it in some of the soy/oyster/kecap manis before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States