Midwestern Pork Tenderloin Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I am from Indiana and trust me, I KNOW a breaded tenderloin sandwich! A few little Hoosier secrets...use buttermilk instead of milk, peanut oil instead of vegetable oil and use saltine crackers for the breading. Mix together buttermilk, egg, a clove or 2 of garlic, salt pepper and some cayenne pepper and let the butterflied pork sit in it for 4 hrs to overnight. When preparing, dredge in Wondra instant flour, then into the buttermilk again, then the cracker crumbs. Ummmmm....I'm salivating at the thought of this sandwich!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAYCOOLJULES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
My husband is from Iowa and LOVES these sandwiches! We've ordered them from Iowa for a few years because I wasn't quite sure of the recipe, but here it is!! I'm thrilled because I'll save all that money on shipping and DH will be soooo happy with a taste of home. Plus, these sandwiches are DELICIOUS! We load on dill pickles, sweet onions, and some mustard for that authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I make mine a little differently..I dip in milk, then flour(with salt and pepper added), then dip in egg, then italian bread crumbs(with a few different seasonings added), then I set my electric fry pan on 350 and put about an inch of crisco in it, then fry individually for about 2 min or a little less on each side..they are really good...had to learn how to make them, as down south, they don't know what pork tenderloin sandwiches are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I used ground saltine crackers instead of cornmeal and put in a little garlic powder to the crumbs. MmmmmmmMMmmm, I just wish I had a frosty mug of A&W root beer to wash it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
My family loved this. I took another's advice and used saltines instead of cornmeal. I also used milk, then flour, then egg wash, then crackers...to ensure my breading stuck. This was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
We too are from Iowa and find this a close homemade example of the fried fair classic. To help make the breading thicker I dip in water, followed by the breading mix (as the directions say) and then wrap each piece individually in saran wrap. I freeze them for 20-30 minutes, remove and re-bread in the cornmeal/flour mix only. We also have done these in our fryer with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I was very disappointed in this recipe. I grew up on pork tenderloin sandwiches. I was skeptical about the flour breading from the start, but I was sold by the photo because it looks like a true pork tenderloin. My instinct was correct. The flour breading isn’t right at all. By comparison, this breading is mushy and flavorless. I even fried these in a deep fryer at the recommended temp and could barely get them brown, much less cripsy like you would with cracker crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
My mom has been making tenderloin sandwiches for years. I use boneless pork loin chops. I dip in flour, beaten egg and finely ground saltine crackers! Tastes great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Dipped pork in milk then into a flour, saltines, salt, pepper, garlic powder and a dash of onion powder mixture. Fried in olive oil until golden brown. THESE TURNED OUT GREAT! Served with lettuce, tomato and red onions. The taste of the pork was so good no one wanted to add any condiments! Served on fresh soft french rolls from the bakery. Will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inverness, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
These are fantastic. We spread on a little horseradish sauce as well. Kicks it up a notch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States