Midwestern House Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
Whoa! Vinegar overload! I nearly fell over after tasting this dressing. I should have cut way back on the vinegar at the beginning, to maybe 1 tbsp. I managed to salvage this dip by adding about 3/4 milk and 1/4 sour cream. The vinegar and the worchestire sauce make this dressing very acidic, so I recommend gradually adding those for taste. In the end, it made a nice dressing for my spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
This is a great creamy salad dressing, not too sweet, not to tangy! We usually have it on spinach salad, but it is also good on tossed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
Excellent dressing! Not too sweet and not too tart. But unless you have a large family, I would suggest halving the recipe (I couldn't get through the entire 4 cups before it went off).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Altos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
I've made this twice now, and end up quadrupling the Worcestershire sauce, omit the honey and add more brown sugar and add LOTS more pepper. It is still pretty tame for my taste, but my husband and son LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAGAIN72461

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
h
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
This is not good at all. I am from Texas and we don't eat salad dressing like that. Sorry. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYDIAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Photo by Debbie
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Very creamy dressing with unique (unbottled) flavor. It is slightly sweet, slightly tangy. I wouldn't change a thing, although next time I will cut the serving size in half because this did make a huge quantity (and there are only two of us). This tastes great as a dressing on cheeseburgers. Who knew?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
LOVE IT!! I didn't have any honey but made it anyway. Honey may have made it too sweet for me because the family and I thought it was PERFECT! Will definately be making it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WICKEDHAZEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Russellville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Surprizingly good. I'll be honest, I didn't expect my family to like this but we really did. I cut the recipe in half and used lowfat mayonnaise and FF sour cream. Really great with a fresh veggie platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States