Midwest Loose Meats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
LOVED these! I live in the midwest and near my hometown we have a Maidrite sandwich shop. These are sooooo close to the taste of their maidrites. I omitted the 1/4 of yellow mustard and they were wonderful. My husband said they were possibly the best maidrites he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
We really liked these. I added onion and garlic to the beef as I cooked it and left out the salt (I think the chicken broth was salty enough). I also didnt put on bread and put it in the oven. Instead I served with artisan bread fresh out of the oven and we each put our own mustard and pickles on. When my husband got seconds, he forgot the mustard and pickles. He thought it just wasn't the same without them so he got up to get them. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Globe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
We really enjoy these, especially with chopped onions and fresh jalapenos added into the mixture prior to cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Soooooo good! My 4 yr old ate 1 1/2 of these. Hubby wasn't so thrilled with the idea of it, but then ate 2 himself! I had no spicy brown mustard so I added what I had....honey mustard! Turned out great! My Son said, "This recipe is a keeper Mom"! I agree. We added our veggies into our sandwiches to make it more like a loose meat burger. This is a stand alone or 'beef' it up kind of recipe. Thank you for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Even better than Tastee Inn burgers, and I never thought I would say that! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
The flavor was sensational. Very savory and a bit salty. Exactly the kind of food I craved when I was pregnant! The only downside to this recipe is that it's a bit messy for kids 6 years old and younger. They'll love the flavor, but you'll have lots of little pieces of meat to wipe up at the end of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
These were SUPER YUMMY! I was skeptical, but have wanted to try these for a while now, and decided to go for it...so glad I did! The meat was very flavorful, but I have to admit that I cooked the meat w/ some chopped onion, just because I had it on hand to use (I don't think it was enough to affect the flavor much). I never thought the meat would soak in all that liquid, but it did, though it took longer than stated (maybe more like 40-45 minutes), which was fine with me. I only made 1/3rd of the recipe, and that was plenty for us. I'm used to sloppy joes, but these were an awesome change from that. I also served ketchup on the side in case anyone wanted to add any...it was good like that too! I will definately be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was great! I stuck to the recipe exactly except for adding some minced garlic and onion powder to the beef. This recipe was super easy and I didn't find it too salty at all. I may add some cheese next time- kept thinking the whole time I was eating that the only way this would be better is with a big old classy plop of cheez whiz on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Yum, we liked these a lot! If you're from Wichita, KS, you will recognize these as Nu Way burgers. These are pretty much exactly like the restaurants sandwiches, which is exactly what I was hoping for. I think next time I will add onions to the ground beef mixture, but other than that, it was perfect. The only thing that I changed when I made it this time was cutting the recipe in half because there were only two adults and one small child eating. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Very cool!!! I had never had a loose meat sandwich before let alone made one...I really loved it. I used beef broth instead of chicken broth and I didn't crumble the meat as much so the flavor would soak in. The beef broth gave it a lot more flavor! Be careful not to use too much yellow mustard on the buns as it will take away from the flavor of the meat! This is an awesome recipe! I have shared it with family and they loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States