Midwest Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My brisket was closer to 12 lbs., but I had to cut it in half to fit it in my roasting pan. I did triple the marinade because there was SOOO much brisket. I covered it with foil (and sealed it really well) and let it cook all day long. It was so tender and flavorful...my hubby couldn't stop raving. I have tried other brisket recipes before that we liked, but this one is definitely going to the head of the pack! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Excellent blend of flavors. I had an 8 lb brisket so I almost doubled the marinade. I decided to "stab" the brisket with a sharp carving fork and then a sharp knife to allow the flavor of the marinade to penetrate throughout the meat. After having marinated in the refrigerator for about 18 hours I double wrapped the meat in heavy foil - placed in a roasting pan and baked at 225 for about 8 hours. Let cool in the foil - then set aside to cool before slicing. The juices were separated fat discarded and the juices boiled and reduced a bit. Really good flavor. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Wonderful flavor! We cooked it at 250 for 6 hours and it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I picked up a brisket on sale even though I haven't had much success with them in the past, found this recipe & WOW! I used the crockpot and cooked the meat over a chopped onion, then made a gravy from the liquid to serve with mashed potatoes. Moist & Flavorful. A real keeper... ~Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Loved this recipe. The Brisket was very flavorful. I put the brisket in the crock pot after marinating. I decided to cook in the crock pot since everything drys out in the oven so quickly in Colorado. I also included the marinade in the crockpot for extra moisture and flavor after boiling it for three minutes in case of bacteria. I also added a 1/2 cup of water and set my crock pot for 6 hrs. It was perfect! I have never cooked with Liquid Smoke before and loved the flavor. My company loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
LOVE IT! I followed this recipe exactly, with a 5lb brisket (for 12 people this was not enough, we all wanted more), marinated overnight (8pm-10am), put the brisket and marinade in a 5qt crock pot on top of an onion cut into 4 sections and added 1/2 cup of water to the bottom (I won't add the water next time). Cooked on low until 5pm and it was amazing!!! I used a little of the gravy and mixed with regular brown gravy mix so it wouldn't be too strong. Everyone requested the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Delicious! The only thing I would add is that be sure to cover when roasting in the oven (the instructions don't specify this) and add just a bit of water to the pan before roasting, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Delicious! I made this on Easter for our whole family & it could not have been better! The only thing I did different was use celery salt instead of celery seed (only because I did not have any). I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This was great! I served 7 and had so much left over. Watch it towards the end of cooking time though, I didn't need the full time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Good Lord!! Am I just this hungry or is this actually this tasty?! I think a little of both. I followed the recipe as written until it came time to cook it. I cooked it for 5 hours in my slow cooker (which does tend to run hotter than I believe it should). I got a wonderfully tender brisket, without the usual mushiness that I get from cooking roasts in the slow cooker. The flavor was wonderful, the texture was perfect. It's a keeper! The only thing I will try next time is to add pepper flakes or hot sauce to the marinade,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States